I AM LORD – Jesus 1 Cor 12:1-3

Jesus is 100% Man and 100% God

So many religions claim access to God. But what do they say about Jesus? “Who do men

Believe it or not, Here I come!

Believe it or not, Here I come!

say that I AM?” Any other combination besides pure Divinity and pure humanity is wrong. Only YHWH, the LORD in the flesh, Jesus – our Emmanuel could completely satisfy His own standard of perfect righteous holiness in his earthly life, and only He could die to perfectly provide salvation for all mankind. If he is anything less, then his salvation is not adequate. This is the problem with religions; they tell you that you have to add to Jesus’ work for your salvation. Thus Jesus’ sacrifice was not sufficient. Consequently where do you stop? How do you know if you’re good enough? How much do you have to pay to make it? What if you are too poor? You can’t know. Religions have you over a barrel. They are afraid that if you teach grace alone through the sufficiency of Christ, then people will be prone to sin without thought of consequence. They are trying to scare you straight. Poppy Cock! God’s grace is enough, his forgiveness is sufficient; his spirit is far more capable than you are to change you from the inside out. Salvation is thus guaranteed to those who rely on Christ who said “it is finished”. His baptism is forever, but his control over you is only as you allow him. Change is a lifelong event by the Holy Spirit as you face daily lessons and learn to yield to him and not grieve him. Personal failure drives you to your knees with feelings of in inadequacy, repentance and thanksgiving for forgiveness. Personal victory is not something to be proud about but thankful for and to praise God for his faithfulness to you. The better you know your savior, and his perfect ability to save, the better you will see the counterfeits (even of the “Spirit”) out there vying for your affiliation.

Jesus is LORD

 1 Cor 12            1Now about spiritual gifts, brothers, I do not want you to be ignorant. 2 You know that when you were pagans, somehow or other you were influenced and led astray to mute idols. 3 Therefore I tell you that no one who is speaking by the Spirit of God says, “Jesus be cursed,” and no one can say, “Jesus is Lord,” except by the Holy Spirit.

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our signature question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God/ Man Jesus Christ. I AM God who is Jesus, the Alpha and the Omega; I AM the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. I created the world by my power because I AM God. The angels worship me because I AM God. The wise men worshiped me because I AM God. The demons recognized, cried and fled from me as the Great I AM. The Jewish leaders tried to stone me for declaring that I AM God. I raised myself from the dead in demonstration of the fact that the grave is subject to me as God. One day every knee will bow before me and declare that I Jesus, AM LORD.  

What did Jesus claim to be?

The entire Old Testament points toward God’s redemption of man by the work of his promised redeemer. Consequently some people want to confuse you about the divine nature of him. Some say he is God, but not human, others say that he was human, but not God. Some say that he is a little god but not the one true God; others say he is just a prophet of God or an enlightened one. But let’s see what God’s Word says about it. What does Jesus, the second person of the Godhead, say about himself?

Firstly let’s set the scene. God’s word was written by Jews and to Jews, the hundreds of prophesies spoken in the Old Testament pointed the Jews to what God’s intentions were in sending a messiah, Jesus is God who became a Jew to fulfill those prophecies and set up his kingdom in Jerusalem, the Jewish leaders interrogated him to see exactly what he claimed to be as compared to what they expected of their promised Messiah, Thus it becomes obvious then what Jesus claimed to be by what the Jews understood him to say, and more particularly by their reactions toward him saying it.

 Jn 8:58,59 “I tell you the truth,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” 59 At this, they picked up stones to stone him.

Jn 10:27-33 “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.” (Regardless of your view of this statement not found in older manuscripts, the reason they stone him is the point which remains the same. – Italics mine)

31 Again the Jews picked up stones to stone him, 32 but Jesus said to them, “I have shown you many great miracles from the Father. For which of these do you stone me?”

33 “We are not stoning you for any of these,” replied the Jews, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.”

Jn 14:6-9 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. 7 If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

8 Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”

9 Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father…

Jn 5:24“I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.

Jn 8:24 “I told you that you would die in your sins; if you do not believe that I am the one I claim to be, you will indeed die in your sins.”

Jesus asked the disciples “who do you say that I am”?

The same question applies to us. Jesus is a substantiated, non-refutable, historical person proven to have actually existed 2000 years ago. His claims of Deity and exclusiveness of salvation brings us to the decision point.

Either Jesus is who he claims to be or he is not. If he is, then he is your only hope of eternity in heaven and you better find out how to be included in him.

Jn 3:36 “36 Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on him.”

Acts 4:12 “12 Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.”

1 Jn 5:11-13” 11 And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12 He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.

Eph 1:13, 14 “13 And you also were included in Christ when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation. Having believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit, 14 who is a deposit guaranteeing our inheritance until the redemption of those who are God’s possession—to the praise of his glory.”

 

The choice is yours,

 

Steve

 

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in the book of 1 Corinthians and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

