I AM the God who bought you. 1 Cor 10:14-22

What idols do you serve?

There are many things that distract us from devotion to the Lord. They may not be graven

My blood was shed for you personally.  Does that mean anything to you?

My blood was shed for you personally. Does that mean anything to you?

images like in the old days that we sacrifice to, but what was a sacrifice to an idol in reality? It was spending your time, affection, and resources on something other than God. Why do we think that we can do that today and not have consequences? When we take the Lord’s Supper – Communion, we are identifying with him in his death and resurrection to a new life. Why do we run straight home to engage in idolatrous activities? Ask God to show you what those look like in your life. Confess and forsake them and see what He would have you do to replace that activity for his glory’s sake. I asked God that question and he showed me how much time of my life was wasted on computer games so now I am studying books regarding the basis for my faith – doctrine. It is amazing how much I have learned about God since that day. But now TV is trying to squeeze in to fill that void in my schedule. Beware; Satan will put anything there to distract you from time with God and your knowing him through his word. Jn 17:3 says “This is what eternal life is all about, knowing the Father and Jesus from this moment on through eternity.” (My rendition)

Idol Feasts and the Lord’s Supper

14 Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry. 15 I speak to sensible people; judge for yourselves what I say. 16 Is not the cup of thanksgiving for which we give thanks a participation in the blood of Christ? And is not the bread that we break a participation in the body of Christ? 17 Because there is one loaf, we, who are many, are one body, for we all partake of the one loaf. 18 Consider the people of Israel: Do not those who eat the sacrifices participate in the altar? 19 Do I mean then that a sacrifice offered to an idol is anything, or that an idol is anything? 20 No, but the sacrifices of pagans are offered to demons, not to God, and I do not want you to be participants with demons. 21 You cannot drink the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons too; you cannot have a part in both the Lord’s table and the table of demons. 22 Are we trying to arouse the Lord’s jealousy? Are we stronger than he?

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our signature question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who bought you with my blood. Does that not mean anything to you? Or are you too focused on this life to care about the next? I bought you for a reason, so that you and I can be together – not just in the future, but now. Eternity starts now. Heaven is ME. When I AM in you, we can fellowship now. I AM your life. When I come back to rule this Earth, you will be with me. Is that not a good reason to focus on me instead of your plethora of idols?

I AM the God who created you and everything else in this universe. Because I created you, I own you. Not only so, but I deserve your attention. Hello… Heaven to Steve… Where your heart is, there your treasure will be also. He who has been forgiven much loves much. How much have you been forgiven? If I own you, then you are accountable to me. This is why so many choose to believe in evolution, so as to remove my sovereignty over them. Won’t they be surprised?

Life is about choices.

Every day we have choices to be with God or serve ourselves. Since God made us eternal beings in our spirits, even though our bodies may die, our spirits will live forever. As Christians that is in heaven, and non- Christians that will be in hell which was prepared for Satan and his demons – not humans; but where non Christians will be sent anyway. Broad is the road to destruction. Narrow is the path to heaven, and few find it. If you do not choose Christ, there are a myriad of gods and idols to serve in this life, but all have the same ending. I like to say, “If I am wrong, how bad off am I in your philosophical scheme for being a Christian ? But if you are wrong, according to Christ, you will be sent to eternal punishment where the worm dies not in outer darkness, in a lake of unquenchable fire, and you will be all alone in your misery forever.” It is a win-win for me, but a win-lose for non-Christians. What is 70 years of the conditions of this life in comparison to an eternity in hell? The choice is yours.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in the book of 1 Corinthians and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

