I AM the God of communication

God’s “secret, hidden wisdom” revealed in the Bible

Humanistic Philosophy has a problem with the concept that a single book – the Bible,

God's wisdom is higher than ours.

God’s wisdom is higher than ours.

claims absolute authoritative truth pertaining to eternal matters typified by Jesus’ claim – “I am the truth…” This claim breaks the rules of existential reasoning that humans make our own truth. But God’s word is not just another book made up by man, and is not just some person’s self realization or visions as are other world religions.

Peter says in 2 Pet 1:20 “Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation. 21 For prophecy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.”

Jer 1: 9-12 “9 Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Now, I have put my words in your mouth…11 The word of the Lord came to me: “What do you see, Jeremiah?” “I see the branch of an almond tree,” I replied. 12 The Lord said to me, “You have seen correctly, for I am watching to see that my word is fulfilled.”

2 Tim 3:16 says “All scripture is God breathed… (Dictated to the apostles and prophets minds)”

So in this passage Paul is telling us the same thing. God is declaring that his word is absolute authoritative truth pertaining to the truth of salvation and eternal life unlike the thoughts and views of every human on earth. “Not the wisdom of this age… God’s secret wisdom… No mind has conceived… but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit… But we have the mind of Christ”. The difference between philosophies of humanity and the revelation of scripture is that only God can save you by his grace and mercy. This message is contrary to human reasoning which says it is by your good deeds or religiousness. Only God’s Word has the true answers to the reason of life, our existence and future destiny after death.

Wisdom From the Spirit

6 We do, however, speak a message of wisdom among the mature, but not the wisdom of this age or of the rulers of this age, who are coming to nothing. 7 No, we speak of God’s secret wisdom, a wisdom that has been hidden and that God destined for our glory before time began. 8 None of the rulers of this age understood it, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. 9 However, as it is written:

No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him”—10 but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit.

The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God. 11 For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the man’s spirit within him? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. 12 We have not received the spirit of the world but the Spirit who is from God, that we may understand what God has freely given us. 13 This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, expressing spiritual truths in spiritual words. 14 The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned. 15 The spiritual man makes judgments about all things, but he himself is not subject to any man’s judgment:

16    “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct him?”

But we have the mind of Christ.

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our signature question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who communicates with man. I am the God who created communication in the first place. It was my word that created all things. It is my word which became flesh. It is by my word that I defeated the devil. I want my greatest creation to know me. I want to reveal myself to you in a way that you understand who I am and can appreciate me. I want all men to know me personally and have a relationship with me. “This is eternal life, that you may know me and Jesus Christ whom I have sent” – Jn 17:3. This is why I created communication. My word is to be taken in plain regular meaning.

I AM the God of supernatural wisdom. My wisdom is not what you conjure up. Your wisdom is temporal and short sighted. Your ideas of truth are debatable and start quarrels and wars. “But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.” – Jas 3:17 “Take my yoke upon you and learn of me and you will find rest for your souls.”

I AM the God who has history and eternity planned out. In the Garden, I offered Adam the choice in the form of two fruit trees; to depend upon my revelation which yields life, or the ability to determine truth by himself yielding death. I knew which path he would choose. This did not stop me from pursuing a relationship with him anyway which I extend to you as well. You can only know me now through my Word which I have given to man through my prophets. If you want to know me, then pick up my book. Just like you would pick up a phone to talk to your friends, I am just a Bible cover away – pick it up, read it and let me reveal myself to you. AS you seek me, ask the question, “Who are you Lord?” and I will be found if you seek with all your heart.

Jesus’ testimony is valid

Say what you want about the inspiration of the Bible, but the writings of all the prophets’ point to Christ. Since Jesus is proven to be a real, historic figure, the bottom line is that you will be held accountable to him so it behooves you to know what he claimed. Jesus faced the scrutiny and doubt of the Scribes and Pharisees who demanded validation of his teaching; they asked him by what authority he taught. Jn 8:13-18 13 The Pharisees challenged him, “Here you are, appearing as your own witness; your testimony is not valid.” 14 Jesus answered, “Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid…15 You judge by human standards; I pass judgment on no one. 16 But if I do judge, my decisions are right, because I am not alone. I stand with the Father, who sent me. 17 In your own Law it is written that the testimony of two men is valid. 18 I am one who testifies for myself; my other witness is the Father, who sent me.” And later in Jn 14:10,11 “Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you are not just my own. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. 11 Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves.” Even when he faced the high priest at his trial, Jesus knew that his testimony would not be believed. Finally before Pilate Jesus said that he came to earth to bear testimony of the truth, but Pilate humanistically retorted in essence that no one can know truth, not that he would have been interested in it anyway. If you believe that Christ was a real person, you must come to grips with his message of truth validated and substantiated by his miracles. It is like the paranoid man who said “Just because I am paranoid does not mean that they are not out to get me.” Just because you say that you don’t believe his testimony, does not mean that you will not stand before him to give account.

Scripture is too incredible to be humanly derived

Contextually speaking, verse 9 is not talking about heaven; it is talking about the wisdom of God revealed in the word of God as given to the apostles. That it is a heavenly wisdom proclaiming the message of the Gospel, and not one that is humanly derived at. Philosophies of the world have a wisdom that is human and makes sense to fallen human minds and can by nature be studied and deemed true. But there is a wisdom from God that is deeper than human wisdom, and this wisdom is eternal and counter intuitive to human wisdom. It says things that don’t make human sense; “love your enemies, deny yourself, if you want to become great – become a servant, bless those who curse you, forgive one another 7 times 70 times, it says that God became human and died for us”. All these heavenly truths point to a reverse psyche so to speak, than what the world teaches. No wonder that the world calls it foolishness. This wisdom is called secret, hidden, and spiritually discerned – meaning that it can only be understood as revealed to you from God’s spirit and not learned from man or derived from within your own mind. Jesus taught with parables so that those who were genuine would understand spiritual truth, but the scoffers departed thinking Jesus was just a good guy see Luke 8:10. Paul says that the gospel which he received was not taught by anyone but rather Gods spirit gave it to him to write down. You must consider that what he received was against everything that he grew up learning in Judaism and not just gleaned over the years he spent under their teaching. Yes Paul was Jewish and obeyed the law, but this new message was about grace, no longer about law; and it was about the establishment of the church and not about Israel and Judaism. But this spiritual wisdom is the only thing that matters when it comes to saving you, for in the Gospel is the power and righteousness of God given to men by faith.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in the book of 1 Corinthians and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

