I AM the God who paid your way to be in heaven someday Jude 24,25

To the only God our Savior be glory

As I mentioned in my last post, if heaven is a reward or if religion is right in saying that we must do good works to earn our way there, then to whom really should the glory go?  If that was truly the case then the doxologies and benedictions of the New Testament books would read completely different than what they do.  Rather, we would present ourselves to God instead of what this doxology says; that Christ is the one to do it for us.  It also wouldn’t make sense in this passage that Christ is the one who keeps us from falling if it is solely our responsibility like religiosity teaches.  Thus, this passage beautifully corrects religious thinking as to who is really worthy of praise for our faith, salvation and heaven to come.

Doxology

24 To him who is able to keep you from falling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy25 to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our trademark question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the Great God and Savior – Jesus.  All glory, honor, power, majesty, authority, praise, belongs to me and me alone.  I am worthy to open the seals because not only did I create the way of salvation, I purchased it with my blood for all mankind.  Authority, power, glory, and honor exist because they are from my being that they came; these attributes come from who I AM. 

I AM the God who is responsible for your faith and salvation.  I purchased you from death.  I gave you faith, grace and mercy.  I placed the desire in you to come to me for your salvation.  If you would have me, if you will agree with me that you are lost in your sin, if you would accept my gift of salvation, I promise that I will bring you to my home in heaven one day. 

I AM the God from before all ages, now as well as forevermore.  Eternity is a concept that you cannot possibly grasp in your natural realm.  Thus I made the heavens for you to gaze into and behold what eternity and infinity means.  As big as the heavens are, I AM more; and as old as time itself, I AM more (from your perception).  In reality, I AM the God of the “continuous present tense”, and as it was before the beginning, when this earth is no more and when I do away with time, I AM; and in me, you will be also.  AMEN.

To be in the Great I AM

Heaven is where God lives, if you are in Christ you will live with God in heaven.

Heaven is where God lives. If you are in Christ, you will live with God in heaven.

We are so limited in our human perception of life because of our natural existence that we fail to see God for who he is, why and how we exist, what he has done for us, what his plans for the ages are, what the future holds for us and many other questions which our five senses cannot explain.  Like king David says, he knows that “we are but dust”… and I am so glad that God remembers that when he deals with us.  For this reason we need God to do for us what we cannot do for ourselves because of our sinful, selfishness and myopic perspectives.  He is the one who saves us – as we cannot.  He is the one who places us in Christ – as we cannot.  He is the one who keeps us from falling – as we cannot.  He is the one who presents us to the Father – as we cannot.  He is thus the only one who is worthy of praise and glory for our salvation – and not us.  We are only the recipients of his work on our behalf.  Yet he still holds out that invitation to us if we would have it.  Thus salvation unlike what religion says is simply letting God to do for you what you cannot do for yourself.  He died on the cross, let it be for you.

When I was a kid I was taught that Jesus died on the cross.  What I was not told was that he did it for me personally because I too am a sinner.  I believed, and now I know that I will live forever in heaven with God because the Bible says I will.  “These things have been written so that you may know that you have eternal life…” 1 John 5:13

All for Jude,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in the book of Jude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I AM the God who paid your way to be in heaven someday Jude 24,25

  1. anatoli says:

    jesus is lord

Leave a Reply

