I AM the God who loves, calls and keeps you Jude 1,2

Guaranteed of his calling, love and security

Driving a new car which you know has a good guarantee produces confidence that if

ETERNAL GUARANTEE

ETERNAL GUARANTEE

anything goes wrong with it, you are taken care of.  Having good health insurance also gives you peace of mind regarding your family’s health.  Guarantees give us the ability to utilize products to their full capabilities with confidence.  We have been given so many guarantees in God’s word regarding our lives yet why don’t we take them at face value?  Why do we still live life frozen in fear so as not to be useful to the Lord?  The Children of Israel constantly faltered in the face of enemies and dangers because they did not have confidence in the giver of those promises/ guarantees.  Knowing that God has your back should give us power and confidence to face trials and hardships but also the ability to step into situations with authority as His spokes persons and ministers.  Once Gideon was confident that God really wanted to use him, God used him to route an entire army with just 300 men.

The whole point of my blog is so that we can know the character of God better and thus be more confident in his provision, love, protection, and to know his heartbeat for our purpose on earth.  This passage gives us some beautiful guarantees which stem from his character that I want us to focus on today. 

Greetings

1 Jude, a servant of Jesus Christ and a brother of James,

To those who have been called, who are loved by God the Father and kept by Jesus Christ: 2 Mercy, peace and love be yours in abundance.

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our trademark question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who loves you.  Be overwhelmed by my love for you because I made you specifically as an object of my delight.  You are special to me.  Don’t let the world tell you any different and don’t let the world conform you into its mold.  I made you the way you are for a reason and I want to glorify myself in your peculiarities as you allow me to control you by my spirit.  Be filled with my love so that you can live for others and be a blessing to all who you meet.  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart…” and “love one another as I have loved you.”

I AM the God who calls you.  Be filled with my peace because nothing can remove you from my hand, and nothing can harm you that I am not in control of.  Be filled with awe and gratitude of me because I want you to be with me forever.  Do not harden your hearts against me as Pharaoh did, and as the Jews did.  I have called out to you from the billions of people among the nations to be my child.   That should mean something to you.  I have set you apart to be mine.  You are my representative on this earth. This calling contains privilege as well as responsibility to be like me.  You see, I came to my own but they didn’t receive me, but to all who do, I will give them the right to be called my children.  The choice is yours.

I AM the God who secures you forever in Christ.  Be overwhelmed with my mercy to you, all your needs are met in Christ.  You cannot earn my love and salvation; it is my free gift of mercy to you.  Thus there is nothing that you can do to lose your standing in me.  So you can have confidence in my salvation on your behalf knowing that nothing you can do will separate you from my love and forgiveness.  Remember it is by my grace and mercy that you are what you are in me.  It is not of anything that you can do which earns my grace so that only I receive glory not you.  Salvation is not a reward.  It is a gift.  Cherish it.  “For I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto him against that day.”

Called, loved, and kept; mercy, peace and love.

What more do we need?  Why do we always seem to want more, or why is this never enough?  In one passage he says that he has given us everything we need for life and godliness.  Another passage says that he has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places.  These promises are not enough only when our eyes are fixated on our physical circumstancesThis is why Paul tells us that we are to set our minds and our affections on things above where Christ is seated, not on earthly things.  Then when our earthly things let us down, we won’t be devastated because we are satisfied in the mercy, presence and love of God, and we can have confidence because we are kept in his care and can have peace throughout the trials of life because we know that God is working in them for our good and his glory.  This truly is good news which comes as a result of a proper understanding of the True Gospel.  If your gospel preaches prosperity, and that is what you expect from God, then like many in the world today, you have set your expectations up for a fall and disappointment in God when (not if) things go south in your life.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in the book of Jude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

