I AM the Christ, I AM God

I AM The Christ, I AM God

It is significant that the Old Testament name for God is Yaweh.  This name does not exist

Only God can open a way to heaven.

Only God can open a way to heaven through Jesus’ death.

in the New Testament but rather the only name for him is Jesus whose title is the Christ.  So it is imperative to salvation that you know who died for you.  Not just some good guy, but your Creator, The God of heaven, the second person of the Godhead – Yaweh.  He is the very one who imposed the death penalty on sin in the first place. He is the same God who promised Eve that her seed would crush Satan’s head (his authority).  He is the same one who came to earth and took that punishment for you.  Just like little David used Goliath’s own sword to cut off his head, Jesus used Satan own sword of death to defeat him.  Satan tried to defeat The Christ by the cross, but was defeated instead by it.  However, for the time being, the world system is still under Satan’s control for the hearts, lives and minds of men.  But I love what it says in vs 5 “Who is it that overcomes the world?  Those who believe that Jesus is The (one and only-mine) Son of God.”  No other philosophy or religion in the world that can help you in this matter.  Only Faith in Christ can give you the hope of victory and salvation from sin, Satan and death.

Faith in the Son of God

5   Everyone who believes that Jesus is the Christ is born of God, and everyone who loves the father loves his child as well. 2 This is how we know that we love the children of God: by loving God and carrying out his commands. 3 This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, 4 for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith. 5 Who is it that overcomes the world? Only he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.

6 This is the one who came by water and blood—Jesus Christ. He did not come by water only, but by water and blood. And it is the Spirit who testifies, because the Spirit is the truth. 7 For there are three that testify: 8 the Spirit, the water and the blood; and the three are in agreement. 9 We accept man’s testimony, but God’s testimony is greater because it is the testimony of God, which he has given about his Son. 10 Anyone who believes in the Son of God has this testimony in his heart. Anyone who does not believe God has made him out to be a liar, because he has not believed the testimony God has given about his Son. 11 And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12 He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life.

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our trademark question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM The Christ – I AM God.  All through history I have communicated my standards, my heartbeat, my love, and my plans with mankind.  But words were not enough, so I came to Earth to show you my love, to live out those standards, and to fulfill my plans for humanity and to die as a solution for mankind’s problem of sin. 

I AM the God who conquered death, Satan and hell.  I told Pilate that I AM the King who will come in the clouds of glory to reign over the world.  Ready or not, here I come.  You will only have to answer for one thing before my throne.  Did you believe in the Son of God?  I won’t ask you about your religion, your view of philosophy, or what you think I should be like.  I will not entertain accusation or justify myself for how I ruled creation, or why needless suffering exists.  The only thing that matters, the only thing that you will be accountable for is what you did with the testimony of my word. 

I AM the God to whom you will give account.  In your allotted time on this earth, did you believe my testimony that Jesus is The Christ who is the eternal God who was sent to die for your sins?  To not take me at my word and believe my testimony as recorded in the Bible is to call me a liar.  There are no other options.  I am real.  What I claim is truth.  I tell you that you will kneel before me as I sit on my throne, unfortunately for you, at that time it will be too late.  Believe me now in this life while there is still opportunity.  I AM the only God who can give you a guarantee of eternal life. 

The Historical Jesus is an undisputed fact.  His message was clear. “I AM He”

“The Talmud and the Mishnah (authoritative Jewish writings), make numerous literary references to Jesus of Nazareth, and many of them were written in the first century. All this evidence confirms that Jesus really lived, and the New Testament record of His life is accurate. As New Testament scholar F. F. Bruce makes clear:

‘Whatever else may be thought of the evidence from early Jewish and Gentile writers … it does at least establish for those who refuse the witness of Christian writings, the historical character of Jesus Himself. Some writers may toy with the fancy of a “Christmyth,” but they do not do so on the ground of historical evidence. The historicity of Christ is as axiomatic for an unbiased historian as the historicity of Julius Caesar.’ (Dan Story, Defending Your Faith (Grand Rapids, MI: Kregel Publications, 1997), 46.)”

Do we have accurate recording of Jesus’ statements?

Thus since Jesus was a real historical person, it behooves us to know what Jesus claimed because those statements are what we will be held accountable for.  The teachings of his apostles were written prior to the destruction of Jerusalem in AD 70 thus there were ample people present who could have contended any inaccurate statements that they wrote.

The Bible is the gut honest truth

We accept the testimony of men when adequate evidence is presented that the testimony is either true or a lie.  We humans can know “in our heart” whether someone is lying or telling the truth.  We believe or call them on it.  The same is true with God’s testimony of his Son.  You ether know it to be true deep down in your gut – heart, or the other option is that you are calling God a liar.  You cannot be indifferent.  Jesus’ claims leave no room.  It is one or the other.  Which one are you?

Water and blood

Jesus’ life (water only) was not the saving factor; it was his death – thus the blood.  Jesus did not just live a perfect life as an example for us to follow to gain eternal life.  No, the payment of sin has always been death, right from the Garden of Eden, not good works on our part.  However, Jesus’ good works proved that he was the perfect blemish free sacrificial lamb as he walked this earth, otherwise he could not have been an acceptable substitutionary sacrifice to take on the sins of the world.  The water refers to his baptism and subsequent 3 years of perfect ministry and obedience to the father.  This is stated in John 17:4 “I have brought you glory on earth by completing the work you gave me to do.”  His perfect ministry and life on earth is a prerequisite for his perfect substitutionary death on our behalf, (just like the lambs had to be blemish free to be acceptable sacrifices throughout the Old Testament).  As a result of being perfect in life and ministry, he was able to say in John 19:30 “It is finished”, meaning the work of salvation because of his sacrifice is done.   The acceptability of his death is validated to us by God ripping the veil in the temple from top to bottom, thus opening the way for all men to come to the father.  He fulfilled the picture of the sacrificial system and finished the need for the payment of blood to remove sin.  His resurrection from the dead is the defining triumph over Satan and death itself, without which we would have just another dead founder of yet another lifeless religion.  But NO,  Jesus The Christ always was and is forever God Almighty.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 1 John and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

