I AM the One True God – Jesus Christ 1 Jn 2: 18-27

Can’t Coexist they contradict each other

It is clear from the Scriptures that he Devil exists and hates God and his children.  Not

Their messages cannot allow for Christ as God

Their messages cannot allow for Christ as God

only so but will do anything he can to prevent humanity from enjoying eternal fellowship with Jesus.  Last week we talked of the covert ways that the Devil uses to creep into our lives and displace Christ as the love of our life.  This week we will look at the overt ways that he does this.  God’s Word is his testimony to us of his Lordship and ownership of our lives.  This passage warns us of the various alternative messages out there Satan uses to dissuade us from believing that testimony.  He will have you believe anything BUT the true Gospel of Christ.  Most people believe in a historical Jesus but they do not really know what he claimed to be, what he taught us about ourselves, what he came to do, and how he promised that he would ultimately come back in the end.  Satan will do anything that he can to keep you from knowing the truth of those four things by sending alternative messages culminating in disguising himself as the Messiah and setting himself up as God in the temple in Jerusalem.  So until that time, he will send many alternative truths and messiahs in order to dissuade men from coming to the true Christ.

Warning Against Antichrists

1 Jn 2:18 Dear children, this is the last hour; and as you have heard that the antichrist is coming, even now many antichrists have come. This is how we know it is the last hour. 19 They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us. 20 But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and all of you know the truth. 21 I do not write to you because you do not know the truth, but because you do know it and because no lie comes from the truth. 22 Who is the liar? It is the man who denies that Jesus is the Christ. Such a man is the antichrist—he denies the Father and the Son. 23 No one who denies the Son has the Father; whoever acknowledges the Son has the Father also. 24 See that what you have heard from the beginning remains in you. If it does, you also will remain in the Son and in the Father. 25 And this is what he promised us—even eternal life. 26 I am writing these things to you about those who are trying to lead you astray. 27 As for you, the anointing you received from him remains in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about all things and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit—just as it has taught you, remain in him.

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our trademark question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the One True God who came to Earth as the One True Christ to make men acceptable in my sight.  I warn you that Satan will do what he can to keep you from believing the testimony of my Word.  Satan is the great counterfeiter, he makes opposites of everything holy.  However, I am not just one of many gods.  Neither am I just a god with a little “g”.  I am not something that you can aspire to become one day nor was I just like you in the past.  Anyone who tells you this is a liar.  I am the only Creator of heaven and EarthI AM the Savior of men who set the penalty for man’s sin as death.  Thus only I have the ability to pay the price in your stead.  This is why I came to earth; I became human without diminishing my divinity and died for you, I went to hell for you, and I raised myself from the dead for you. I am victorious over the grave and Satan.  Anyone who denies this is lost.  Anyone who acknowledges me in this way, I will place my anointing spirit in them and they will live forever.  Anyone who says otherwise is an antichrist and is eternally lost. 

I AM the God who teaches you all truth by my Spirit in your inner man.  I give you my Divine nature to change your thinking and consequently your life to be like mine.  The more you know me by my Spirit’s teaching from the Word of God, the less likely you will be drawn away by false teachings from the world.  No one can acknowledge that Jesus is The Lord unless my Spirit is in him.  And those in whom my Spirit dwells will live with me forever.  Heaven is not a reward for people who do good works.  Rather, Heaven is simply where I live, as well as for those in whom I dwell by my spirit. 

Counterfeit gods and saviors

There are so many theories and false doctrines out there taught by supposed learned men.  Be careful to what you allow yourself to listen to.  There are many people who just want their ears tickled.  Be sure to test their messages against the Bible.  Make sure that they teach that Jesus Christ is God almighty – One with the Father who specially created this world from nothing, that He came to earth as the Son – Jesus Christ, and who is Lord of Lords and King of Kings, that He is coming again to rescue his children and reign over this world, and that the Holy Spirit who is also God whose work it is to glorify the Son and permanently indwells His true believers. If you don’t, you may find yourself serving a counterfeit god without knowing it just because it looks nice.

What is Jesus saying through John? 

‎Many believe that Jesus was a good man, and that we are to follow his example.  But unless you know what his message was, just looking at his good deeds and miracles might lead you to think that way.  But what was Jesus’ message?  I AM equal with God the Father, and only I can save you from your sin and give you eternal life.  He said, “Father glorify me with the glory that I shared with you before the world was made.” “Before Abraham was, I AM.” “I AM the way, the truth, and the life, no man comes to the father but by me.”  “I AM the door.”  “He who has the Son of God has life”.  “In this is eternal life that they know you and Jesus Christ whom you have sent”.  The passage above is another guarantee of salvation to those who believe that Jesus is the Christ – God Almighty.  Jesus Christ is Lord.

The Jews knew what he was claiming

The Jews knew what he was claiming by his outlandish statements that no good Jew would ever say if they were but mere men.  On many occasions they tried to kill him for his claims of deity.  Jn 8:46, 47 Can any of you prove me guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? 47 He who belongs to God hears what God says. The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God.”  The demons even acknowledged his divinity on a number of occasions.  Jesus is our God and Creator, our Savior and our future Judge and King.  Jesus is not just a good guy; his message of salvation from your sin means everything.  To deny these facts is to be an antichrist and a liar and lost.  Extra reading: read John 6:25-70; and ch 8:12-58 to see Christ’s controversial messages that the Jews could not accept.   As he asked Peter “Who do you say that I am”?  We are all asked the same question.  What is your answer?

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 1 John and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

