I AM the God who gives you the Divine Nature 2 Peter 1:3-11

How bad do you want God’s divine nature in you?

Referring to the last post, how precious is your faith to you?  How bad do you want God’s

Just as God gives us life, so too he gives us his divine nature

Just as God gives us life, so too he gives us his Divine Nature

“divine nature” in your life?  How bad do you want to escape the corruption of the world caused by what goes on in your thoughts and heart?  If you are in Christ, he has already given you the fullness in Christ.  He has already blessed you with every spiritual blessing in heavenly places.  He gives us everything we need for life and godliness, just as he gave us life itself.

“How do you gain a holy ambition?  Immerse yourself in the Bible and ask God to make something burn in your heart”  ~J. Piper,

Lk 24:32 NIV “’Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road and opened the Scriptures to us?’ 33 They got up and returned at once to Jerusalem.”  When God opens his word to you, he changes you from the inside out.  That’s God.  Religion just imposes external rules to try to curb your sin nature.  God gave you a new nature – His.  Do you know him?

1 Peter 1:2Grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.

Only through our knowledge of Him!

3 His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. 4 Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires. 5 For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; 6 and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; 7 and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. 8 For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. 9 But if anyone does not have them, he is nearsighted and blind, and has forgotten that he has been cleansed from his past sins. 10 Therefore, my brothers, be all the more eager to make your calling and election sure. For if you do these things, you will never fall, 11 and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who calls you from among the nations to be my people and have chosen you to give you my Divine nature.  I will make you like me if you want me to.  I AM the faithful God who will carry out what I have started to do in you until I return.  As you know me, and let my character transform you, others will know that I am real.  My character will be revealed by your faith, goodness, knowledge, self-control, perseverance, godliness, kindness and love for others.  Because I AM the God who possesses these attributes.  My divine nature placed in you is the only escape you have from the corruption of this world which feeds on the evil desires of your sinful nature. 

I AM the only source of life and godliness for humanity which is found in my promises to you.  I gave you my word on the matter and I never lie.  And in the end, my word is all that will really matter anyway, because, I AM the eternal living Word of God; know my Word and you know me; know me and humbly come to receive my salvation and I will make you like me and give you my righteousness.  Possess my Son’s righteousness and not only will you be able to escape the corruption of the world, it will also allow you to enter heaven some day. 

How do we make our calling sure?

This passage could be considered to be an Avatar for my blog in that our salvation, our destiny, our survival in this brutal world, our character and testimony are based upon our faith or confident knowledge of and dependence upon God; what he has done for us and his promises to us.  In other words, as this blog, “Who are you Lord?” is all about our eternal destiny and our success as believers are about our personal intimate knowledge of what God is like.  Our effectiveness in this world as a believer is based on our letting his values and character change us into his likeness, but only as much as we know him.  If this is our desire, then he will make us succeed.  After all, the goal of our faith is an eternal presence sitting at Jesus’ feet in fellowship with and getting to know him.  By knowing God intimately and allowing his word to change our lives, we demonstrate proof that our faith is true so that others can attest to it.  Our minds must be transformed into his mind.  Only then will God use us in this world as stated in Rom 12:1, 2 “Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is…”  God sees the heart, but men witness our lives.  Anyone can pretend to be a believer when things are easy. But show me your faith and changed attitudes by your words and works when things are hard and I will show you a person who has been given a new divine nature.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 2 Peter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I AM the God who gives you the Divine Nature 2 Peter 1:3-11

  1. God bless you… Love this!

    • strostrud says:

      I am grateful that God is letting me do this and my prayer is only that people would be encouraged in some way from God who is the God of all encouragement.

      • Praise The Lord I was encouraged when I read this.. I have been so very discouraged for some time now & without The Lord I would be totally hopeless Im in a very dark place in my life & while I was raised in church & have always believed in God & have always known that Jesus Christ is The Son of God & that He died for my sins & that He rose on the third day & have always believed & known that The Holy Bible is THE WORD of GOD & EVERY WORD is ABSOLUTELY TRUE,,The Lord opened my eyes & caused me to understand that believing & knowing is not enough without a personal intimate relationship with Him… I must be born-again, I HAVE to be born again.. and I have been praying & praying everyday for myself & my family to be born-again.. but Im so deep in the miry clay of sin & iniquity because of my own foolishness that I have been in a constant state of discouragement & hopelessness. I know I have to submit myself to The Lords will & deny myself & Iv been wanting so badly to repent (not just ask for forgiveness like I do 100 times a day) but truly repent & be born-again but Iv been feeling like The Lord has given up on me & that Hes left me & theres no hope for me because Im constantly failing, Iv been a failure at everything in my life.. yesterday was a particularly hard/bad day for me were I found myself once again in a very dark place full of despair & utter hopelessness & I did the only thing I could do, pray… I prayed & prayed last night & this morning asking The Lord to please give me a new heart & a new nature but still felt like The Lords fed up with me & wont forgive me anymore because Iv messed up & disobeyed & sinned too many times but when I read your blog I began to feel hope again & encouragement. Its like The Lord was speaking to me telling me to pick up my Bible & read & get to know Him afresh & anew… so I just wanted to say thank you, thank you so very much for pointing me the way to The Lord again.. The Bible tells us we are to encourage one another always & The Lord truly has used your blog to encourage me when I felt like all was lost, Praise God! Thank you & may God bless you greatly! 💜❤

Leave a Reply

