I AM the God who gives eternal worldviews. 1 Peter 4:1-11

What do you wake up for each morning?

World view – What is it, and why do we need one?  One book I read said that most

The hope of an eternal worldview

The hope of an eternal worldview

Christians do not have a “Christian world view”.  Many Christians do not even read the Bible so how would they get a Christian world view?  Unless like Isaiah you see the Lord for who he is and what he has done for you, you will never see life from God’s perspective nor can you expect to have a desire to be of service to God.  Whether you like it or not, and whether you understand what it entails, all genuine believers fall into two categories as specified in Gal 5:16, 17.  You are either living under the control of the Holy Spirit for God’s glory, or you are living controlled by your fleshly desires to satisfy yourself, there is no third option.  If you are an unbeliever, I’m sorry, but this post does not apply to you, since you are not included in Christ nor do you have the Holy Spirit indwelling you.  Let me speak to your situation at the end of this post.     (Picture credit: biblestudyoutlines.org)

Living for God

1 Peter 4:1   Therefore, since Christ suffered in his body, arm yourselves also with the same attitude, because he who has suffered in his body is done with sin. 2 As a result, he does not live the rest of his earthly life for evil human desires, but rather for the will of God. 3 For you have spent enough time in the past doing what pagans choose to do—living in debauchery, lust, drunkenness, orgies, carousing and detestable idolatry. 4 They think it strange that you do not plunge with them into the same flood of dissipation, and they heap abuse on you. 5 But they will have to give account to him who is ready to judge the living and the dead. 6 For this is the reason the gospel was preached even to those who are now dead, so that they might be judged according to men in regard to the body, but live according to God in regard to the spirit.

7 The end of all things is near. Therefore be clear minded and self-controlled so that you can pray. 8 Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. 9 Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. 10 Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. 11 If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power forever and ever. Amen.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who suffered abuse, insults and death, I lived on this earth to do the will of The Father not to please myself and it cost me my life to do so, but I knew it would; and I did it for you anyway.  It was prophesied that I would come way back in the Garden of Eden, in Abel’s acceptable offering, through the sacrifice of the ram in Isaac’s place, in all of the Passover Lambs killed, and through the promise to Abraham to bless the world through him. I AM the God who kept my promise to come to rescue mankind from sin.

I AM the God who will judge all men.  I will judge all men to see if their names are in the Lambs book of life.  I will judge true believers for what they have done for me as a result of my salvation (see 1 Cor 3:11 -15) and unbelievers as to their lack of receiving my salvation in the first place (see Rev 20:11-15).  I will not judge my children with the unbelievers (see Rom 8:1) because I make a distinction between my children and the Egyptians, this is why I saved my children from the punishment I sent on Egypt (see Exodus 8:23; 9:6, 26; 11:7).  I saved Noah out from my judgment of the flood on the earth.  I saved Lot from my judgment on Sodom and Gomorrah.  I will save my church from my coming wrath in the end days.  

I am not one of your petty gods to serve as if I needed anything from you.  I AM the Only real God and who wants to reveal myself to you but I will do so primarily through my church, my representatives- those who are my children as they hold out the word of life and let me live my life through them so that all men would recognize me and would come to me for eternal life.

I AM the God who has planned the history of the world I know the beginning from the end.  I have appointed a time when this age will end.  So, don’t live as if this life will go on forever.  Even if I should choose that it would, you won’t.  One day you will die, or I could return like a thief in the night today.  When you least expect it I will come and call you to kneel before me. So while you wait, I am giving you an opportunity to firstly get right with me.  Then to work with me in this world to be my agents for change in the lives of people around you.  Transform your mind so you can pray, take on my world view so you can minister to others and meet needs around you so that they would praise me for your faithful lifestyle. rather don’t be a hypocrite and give men an excuse why not to believe ( see 1 cor 15:33,34).  Keep yourself pure so that I can use you for my glory (see 2 Tim 2:21-22)

What is your world view?

How you view God, your sinful state, the salvation He holds out to you, and Christ’s future judgment to come, should motivate you how to live your life.  If you do not live for His praise and glory, then, as there are no other options, it will be for your own pleasures.  Whether people like to hear it or not, everyone will give account to him who sits on the throne.  Just because unbelievers think they can explain away both God and his Word does not mean that they are right.  Our thoughts about God will affect our actions in this life.  This is called world view.  Our world view will affect the way we live our life accordingly.  This is also why the world condemns Christianity as a whole – because Christians are hypocrites as they don’t live life as if God is real, they tend to live for self interests like every other human on this planet and yet are accused of seeming to claim to be better than the rest.  Know this non-believer; that every one of us believers will give account to Him who sits on the Throne as to our hypocrisy.  The difference being that even though we may lose reward for our hypocrisy, our eternal state will not be affected as that is something that only God could do for us when he died on the cross 2000 years ago.

Salvation is not about our good works

You on the other hand will not even be asked about your good works because

Depart from me, I never knew you.

Depart from me, I never knew you.

salvation is not based on them.  It is about the good work of another.  Your judgment will consist of one question.  Why did you not trust in the finished work of my son on your behalf when he died for your sins?  Away from me into the place prepared for the devil and his angels.  Jesus will be either your advocate or your Judge which one do you want him to be?  He will be your judge because he made you and owns you.  But He could be your advocate if you let him because he paid the price of his own judgment for you when he died on the cross.  (Picture credit: http://www.gracedoctrine.org)

I hope that this blog clears up the obscurity of religion a little bit.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 1 Peter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

