I AM The Cornerstone and the finishing Capstone 1 Peter 2:4-12

Not all roads lead to heaven

There are so many religions out there so no wonder people are confused.  If I were Satan I

Rendition of Christ as the cornerstone

Rendition of Christ as The Cornerstone

would flood the market with alternatives to God’s Word as well.  The Bible clearly says that Not all roads lead to heaven as Satan would have you to believe.  “Broad is the way that leads to destruction, narrow is the path that leads to life and few find it.”  However, there must be many roads to choose from so that you can exercise your free will to choose God’s Word over them.  God does not want robots but free agents choosing him over all other options.  Like in the story of Cain and Abel.  Cain came to God by his own ideas and own sacrifice (unsuccessfully).  Abel came in the way as directed by God and his sacrifice was accepted because of his faith.  In today’s passage God has established who the right road is – his Son.  Jesus said “I am the Way, the Truth and the Life no man comes to the Father but by me.”  God’s road leads us to Zion and Calvary’s cross.   Jesus is the Cornerstone- beginning of the church and the capstone- end to the church.  How are we to come? – trusting in Christ’s work on our behalf.   What happens to us when we come? – We are given new life, His Holy Spirit who then places us into his body – the church so that we will not be ashamed before God on the last day.  (picture credit; thunderofgod.wordpress.com)

The Living Stone and a Chosen People

1 Peter 2:4As you come to him, the living Stonerejected by men but chosen by God and precious to him— 5 you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. 6 For in Scripture it says:

“See, I lay a stone in Zion, a chosen and precious cornerstone, and the one who trusts in him will never be put to shame.” 7 Now to you who believe, this stone is precious. But to those who do not believe,

The stone the builders rejected has become the capstone,” 8 and, “A stone that causes men to stumble and a rock that makes them fall.” They stumble because they disobey the message—which is also what they were destined for. 9 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 10 Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

11 Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul. 12 Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who is building my church from people around the globe who trust in the acceptable sacrifice of my Son on their behalf.  Anyone who trusts in him will not be ashamed when they stand before me to give account for their lives.  Since I AM the Holy, Righteous, God of the universe, my people/ church/ bride is to be holy and blameless as my representatives as they live their lives before men. 

I AM the cornerstone, the capstone.  I went to a lot of trouble to establish my salvation for man by dying on the cross.  Anyone who does not have me as the foundation of their lives is recklessly building on sand and on the last day as they stand before me, all that they lived for will collapse before me to their shame and punishment.  Why as the verse says would you reject my way in order to establish your own way of salvation when I have provided it freely for you through Christ?   

I AM the God of mercy and Grace; I AM the Light of the World.  If you are tired of stumbling around in the dark, follow my voice and come to the light of the world – My Son to receive my mercy and grace and to receive that light inside of you.  If you are one of my believers, then walk as a child of my light.  Live as I lived on this earth.  Let others see the Light that I have placed in you, and why you live the way that you do so that you can tell them of my salvation.

I AM the God who chose Zion in Jerusalem where I would do my work.  My Word is the only authority which matters.  My way of salvation is a stumbling block of offense to the religious and educated and self reliant people of this world.  It requires that you humbly admit to me that you need my help, and come to My Son for my salvation.  No gurus, no mediums, no professors, no priests, just Jesus.

I AM the God who promised that I would come to save mankind and I did.  And I promise that I am coming again to Mt Zion but next time it won’t be as a savior, but as rightful king and judge.

What is Salvation?

This passage shows that the salvation of man by God is not a subjective feeling or work you do within you, rather it is an historic and objective action performed by God on your behalf 2000 years ago.  Thus salvation by God must be relied upon rather than conjured up from within.  Salvation is received by faith.  Faith is defined as reliance, dependence upon or allowing someone else to do for you what you cannot do for yourself.  Faith is based on the promises of God and your taking him at his word.  Even your desire to have faith is a gift given to you by God.  This is why Jesus said that “It is finished” as he hung on the cross.  The work of salvation is complete.  Now we just take him at his word that He died for us individually.  Each person must come to that realization in confession admitting their abject need to cleanse them from sin to make them right in God’s eyes.  Let Jesus Die for you!  Only then will you not be ashamed as you stand before God when he calls you to account.

Don’t be like Cain

In this as in every passage I see a God who is caring and wants to be with the epitome of his creation – Man.  He has done everything necessary to bring man back into his fold, but he won’t make us.  His way requires our needing him.  We don’t like to think that we need anything.  Deal with it.  This passage shows us that God performed his work historically through Israel.  But now it is bigger than that.  One day He will come back again to Zion and establish his kingdom there and we, his church and bride, will be with him at his side.  You can come too if you want, but like Able, you will have to come in the way that God has dictated and provided for us as written in his Word the Bible and by the work of his Son.  Don’t be like Cain who tried to come to God in his own way only to be rejected.  The Jews also stumbled at and rejected Christ as the cornerstone, and to them and all others who reject Christ, he will become the final capstone preventing any more from being added to the building of God.  Christ is the Beginning (cornerstone) and the end (Capstone) for all righteousness.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 1 Peter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

