I AM the God who wants you to have My Mind. 1 Peter 1:13- 2:3

The battle is for our minds

“As a man thinks in his heart so is he.”  I like to say that you cannot sin unless you think

God gives us his mind

God’s Word gives us HIS mind

about it first and God knows our thoughts before we do so he sees our sin as we formulate it in our minds.  “Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.”  Our minds are what make us stand or fall.  What we know of God’s Word and his work on our behalf as it is revealed to us by the Spirit should motivate us to allow the Spirit to make us more like Jesus as the Spirit applies His Word to our lives. Our Sin nature, controls what we want in this life (usually to consume upon our lusts) and our minds think how to fulfill those desires.  Think on something enough and in the heat of the moment you speak or act on those thoughts.  Replace those thoughts with God’s Word and you will act on or speak the Word in those same situations to God’s glory.  Situations don’t make you have the emotions; situations reveal what is within you already.  Our minds are like computers that need to be reprogrammed by God’s Word.  Only then will our actions reflect God’s Holiness.  When his Spirit does not control us, we reboot to our original programming – Sin. 

I AM the Holy God

1 Peter 1:13 Therefore, prepare your minds for action; be self-controlled; set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Jesus Christ is revealed. 14 As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. 15 But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; 16 for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.17 Since you call on a Father who judges each man’s work impartially, live your lives as strangers here in reverent fear. 18 For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, 19 but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect. 20 He was chosen before the creation of the world, but was revealed in these last times for your sake. 21 Through him you believe in God, who raised him from the dead and glorified him, and so your faith and hope are in God. 22 Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for your brothers, love one another deeply, from the heart. 23 For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God. 24 For,

“All men are like grass, and all their glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall, 25 but the word of the Lord stands forever.” And this is the word that was preached to you.

2    Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. 2 Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, 3 now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who created your mind to communicate with me.  I AM the God who wants to talk to you both now and forever.  But there are so many voices in this world and in your life that are fighting for your attention.  I allow those choices so that you have to choose which you will listen to and follow- Me or the world.

First and foremost I AM Holy, Righteous and just; and will judge each man’s works by my standard.  I AM also the God of love, mercy and grace who saves and redeems men.  I AM coming again in grace to redeem my own but also one day in Justice to settle the score on iniquity.  How can I reconcile being both love and justice you ask?  I paid the price for men’s sins against me myself by my own blood.  I paid the price for you because I know that you can’t.  Only I can do for you what you cannot do for yourself if you want to live.  Thus, I AM worthy of your faith and trust, and I AM faithful to my word.  Only My Word can give you confidence through my promises in the hope which I hold out for you.  The more you know my Word, the better you know me and my salvation, and the more confidence you will have to see you through this hard life and save you from the lies passed down to you from generations of ignorant alternative explanations of your existence which change over the years.  Only my Word will last FOREVER because I AM forever.  From everlasting to everlasting I AM God and I want you with me. 

My Word is the only thing that can change you from the inside out.  Religion can only make you look different on the outside but inside the cup is still dirty.  Only my Word and Holy Spirit can make you acceptable to me on the inside where nobody sees.  Let my Word make you think and act like me.  Let my Word change your worldview and remove your hypocrisy, exchange your malice with my grace and mercy.  Let my Word give you my wisdom and mature you so you can understand your purpose in this world and the meaning of life. Let my Word give you the hope of the ages and a vision for others who are still living in the darkness of artificial alternatives. 

Decisions, Decisions

Let me think; God cannot lie.  His Word says that God made the world.  It says that He made me with an eternal purpose.  It says that He paid the price for my sin so that I can live with him forever.  He promises that for the rest of my physical life he gives me internal peace, comfort, joy, love, grace, fellowship with him daily, and purpose for living.  He says that He plans to come again to reward me for letting him live in me and will reward me for a life lived for his glory.  He foretold that He will rule this world at some time in the future and promised that he will let me rule under him during that time.  He promises that he is going to destroy this whole world and make a new one where we will live forever.  I can trust his Word in all this or; I can flip him off, do my own thing and spend eternity in hell.  HMMM let me think.  The world says that by choosing God, I am the crazy one. God’s word says the fool says in his heart (there is) No God.   Time is ticking, what will you choose to believe?

Our hope is a future hope of salvation guaranteed by the Word.  This world is trying to corrupt our thinking so that we live for pleasures without regard for the judgment of God to come.  God did everything he could to change our future by shedding his own blood for us and saving us from this empty selfish lifestyle.

70 years verses eternity… which will you choose?

The Psalmist says “Thy word have I hid in my heart that I might not sin against thee”  Paul says “Taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ”  Only God’s Word in the forefront of our thoughts can change our decisions to sin or act righteously as guided by the Holy Spirit of course.  Christianity is not about academics but lifestyle change into the likeness of Christ by changing your thoughts to those of God’s.  This will only happen when we are sick and tired of the philosophies and lifestyles that have been crammed down our throats by the world.  Once we have “tasted” that God’s thoughts are more important that life itself, then we will be in a position to hear from him and only then will the Holy Spirit make God’s thoughts a reality in our lives so we can become like his Son in this world for His Glory.  He created us with minds to know him through his word.  The more we know God, the more we will see how short this life is to squander it on personal pleasure.  What is 70 years compared to eternity?  Nothing.    What are you going to do about it?  Choose to let God give you his mind, thoughts and love from now on.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 1 Peter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I AM the God who wants you to have My Mind. 1 Peter 1:13- 2:3

  1. lburck says:

    thank you for the message. I am so grateful that I stumbled onto your site.

Leave a Reply

