I AM the God who calls men to a living hope. 1 Pet 1:1-12

God chose us from among the world’s population.  Are you one of his chosen?

We are eternal creations made to be temporary residents on this world.  As believers in

Are you God's chosen?

Are you God’s chosen?

Christ, we are called sojourners and aliens in this world.  God chose us from among all the people of this world like he called old Abram out from among his people of Ur.  We live in a wicked society like Lot did when he moved into the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah which God rescued him from.  God calls us to be holy as our Father in heaven is holy.  But since we are also sinful humans, only God can work that out for us and in us, by giving us his Holy Spirit, thus He asks us to be his representatives in this world today.  God has given us everything we need for life AND godliness in this evil age.  He has given us the privilege of His salvation and forgiveness, the empowering and filling of His Holy Spirit, the vision of His Hope of Heaven, and the responsibility of His command to share it with everyone else in this world we live in. 

1 Peter 1:1 Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, To God’s elect, strangers in the world, scattered throughout Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia and Bithynia, 2 who have been chosen according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, through the sanctifying work of the Spirit, for obedience to Jesus Christ and sprinkling by his blood: Grace and peace be yours in abundance.

Praise to God for a Living Hope

3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 and into an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade—kept in heaven for you, 5 who through faith are shielded by God’s power until the coming of the salvation that is ready to be revealed in the last time. 6 In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. 7 These have come so that your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed. 8 Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy, 9 for you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls. 10 Concerning this salvation, the prophets, who spoke of the grace that was to come to you, searched intently and with the greatest care, 11 trying to find out the time and circumstances to which the Spirit of Christ in them was pointing when he predicted the sufferings of Christ and the glories that would follow. 12 It was revealed to them that they were not serving themselves but you, when they spoke of the things that have now been told you by those who have preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven. Even angels long to look into these things.

Who Are You Lord?

I AM the Merciful God who chose the Israelites, one nation from among all the nations to be my representatives, through whom I declared my glory to the world.  Since then, I have chosen people from around the globe to be my special people, a holy nation, to be my bride, my church, and my representatives to the world today; and I want you to be one of them.  Only I can give the hope of an eternal inheritance to my children.  I came to Earth to pay the ransom price for all men to have access to that hope, but I know beforehand that only some will accept my invitation.  I AM the All knowing God, and in my foreknowledge I know who will accept me; I choose, draw and sanctify them by my Holy Spirit to receive my salvation by the work of Christ on their behalf.  What about you?  Do you feel my drawing?  Do you feel a desire for something more than this life can give you?  Are you attracted by my righteousness, burdened by your sin and afraid of my promise of future judgment on all unrighteousness?  Then know that My Spirit is working on your heart to respond to my invitation of salvation and to join my family.  I already know how you will decide, but the choice is still yours, and you will have to wear the responsibility of it.

I AM the God who paid the price of eternal life on your behalf by the death of my Son – Jesus, meaning that my salvation costs you nothing nor is there anything that you can do to earn it.  I desire to give you my Divine nature and make you Holy like myself.  But in the mean time, your faith in me will cost you everything; maybe even your life as was the case of my Apostles and many others through the ages.    I AM the God who is coming again.  That day will be a glorious day of victory and joy.  Know that on that day I AM coming with my reward in my hand to reward those who have genuine faith.  I AM the God who is at work in all your trials and these trials will bring you glory and honor in the age to come as you respond in them by faith.  In your trials, don’t ask “why me God?”, rather, count it all Joy as James says when you go through trials of various kinds because they are weighing out for you an eternal glory.  Instead you should thank me that I have chosen you to endure them as Paul says, “In all things give thanks, for this is God’s will for you.”  What is the victory without the battle, or the victor’s crown without the race?  These trials are light and momentary by comparison to the glory I have in store for my chosen ones.  These trials are also light and momentary by comparison to the tortures of Hell for those who harden their hearts against me or simply neglect my great provision of salvation.

I AM the God who communicates with man the thoughts and hopes which I have for them through my Word which I have given to you by my prophets and apostles.  Like Aaron’s staff which turned into a snake and ate all the snakes which Pharaoh’s holy men could muster, only My Word is authoritative truth over all the other alternatives out there.  Only my Word will last forever. Only My Word tells you who I AM.  Only my Word can give life.  Know my Word and you will know me; know me and you have life.  I AM the faithful God who does what I promise in my Word, so you better believe me when I say to you that I made you, provided for you, save you, and will return to call you into account.  Are you ready?   

If you want to be one of God’s elect, you probably are. 

It doesn’t matter who you are or where you are from.  God is calling a group of people from among the nations who will be his bride and church to reign with him for eternity.  Are you one of them?  You can know.  God’s Word tells us that God desires that all come to know him and repent for salvation. God’s Word says to all who receive him God gives the power to become the sons of God.  We also know that no one comes to Christ unless the Father draws him.  So just having the desire to be one of His children is a work of God in your heart which you should heed to while he extends it.  It is your choice to respond or not.  Don’t put it off till later, you can harden your heart as did Pharaoh in the first few plagues or you can submit to the drawing of the Spirit of God like Abraham did and receive Christ’s life in you.

Choose to respond to His drawing. 

Here is how:

  1. Recognize God’s absolute righteous, holy standard.  That it is beyond your capability to achieve.
  2.  Acknowledge your absolute sinfulness and inability to save yourself.  Admit that you deserve God’s righteous punishment of death and eternal separation in hell.
  3. Depend upon God’s solution through the substitution in Christ’s death in your place.  In essence allow Christ to die for your sin nature which makes you do wrong.
  4. Receive the free gift of life in Christ and forgiveness through his blood and then simply thank him everyday of your new life in Christ.

You don’t deserve it.  You cannot earn it.  He died in your place.  It is solely by his mercy that he extended his invitation to you.  It is God’s free gift, so we cannot boast or be dependent upon our own works, but rather have confidence in his promises to us and His faithfulness alone.   I implore you, be reconciled to God.  If you feel God’s pulling on your heart, or conscience, then don’t put it off; choose this day to respond to God’s call by allowing him to give you his life and righteousness by confessing your utter neediness and sinfulness.  Then just rest in his finished work on your behalf.   Welcome to the family of God.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 1 Peter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

