I AM the All Knowing God, Wisdom is my Essence. James 3:13-18

“The wisdom of the Lord is foolishness to the world.” 

“But the foolishness of God is wiser than the wisdom of men.”  Putting others first, denying

Solomon's Wisdom was from Above

Solomon’s Wisdom was from Above

self, laying your life down for your friend, giving to others in need without expecting anything in return, being kind to our enemies, forgiving 70 times 7, and many other “Christian” virtues all seem ridiculous in light of humanistic values of evolution and naturalism.  This is one reason the Bible says that narrow is the path to life and few find it.  Eternal life is about a future kingdom, not this earthly one.  It is about living this present life by faith, love, and dependence upon the Lord to change you into God’s likeness in the here and now.  God’s wisdom is just one of his many character traits which he alone can instill within us as we let him.  His wisdom is based on His Word, so it behooves us to know His Word if we want that wisdom to emanate from our lives.  “Thy Word have I hid in my heart that I might not sin against you…” (Picture credit amaic-kingdavid.blogspot.com)

Two Kinds of Wisdom

3:13Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. (17 But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. 18 Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness. (I moved vs 17, 18 here to speak of one subject at a time)) 14 But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. 15 Such “wisdom” does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. 16 For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.

Who are you Lord?

Even though I AM the Omniscient God, I AM the personification of humility.  I not only created everything by my intrinsic knowledge, I created knowledge itself from my essence and I have made it available to humanity to acquire.  I also created your minds to receive, analyze, meditate and remember my knowledge so that we can communicate intelligently.   Wisdom is also part of my nature whereby I apply my knowledge and truth accordingly and with perfect intent so nothing takes me by surprise.  There are no accidents, everything happens for a reason.  You can take comfort in the fact that no matter what bad situations may happen to you, I AM there to give you my wisdom to know how to respond in them.  Don’t blame me for the problems in your life, rather look to me for answers for them.  Know that I AM perfect, pure and righteous in spite of the plots of the Devil or his evil, ambitious lackeys who are out to harm you.  But know that in my vast wisdom, I am working through those same problems to work something better in your life in a very specific way. Trust me in this.  I know you and what you need better than you know yourself.

I AM meek and gentle, even though I AM the All Powerful God of the universeI AM impartial; I love everyone and invite all to be my childrenI AM merciful in that I don’t take pleasure in the death of the wicked.  However, don’t confuse my mercy as weakness.  Remember that I destroyed all life on earth with the flood because of man’s continual lust for sin.  I destroyed the sodomites with fire.  I destroyed the Egyptian army in the Sea of Aqaba.  And one day my justice will once again prevail when all men will stand before me to give an accounting for what they did in this life, and where I will repay all humanity by my wisdom and justice. “Vengeance is mine, I will repay.” Until that day comes, know that in my wisdom and my mercy I will lead many to repentance before then (Rom 2:4).  What are you waiting for?

Wisdom is Merciful

In his wisdom, God has always desired for men to repent.  Man will always fail as that is our sin nature.  Rom 11:32 in the NIV says “For God has bound all men over to disobedience so that he may have mercy on them all.”  God gives every man the chance to repent and receive mercy to restore fellowship.  He gave Adam the chance when He called out “Where are you?”  He reasoned with Cain as to why he was angry and actually warned him about the sin with which he was contemplating.  He gave the people of Noah’s day 120 years to repent.  (I know some of you will disagree with this next one),  but even the Pharaoh was given 9 chances to let God’s people go, however it wasn’t till after the first few plagues of Pharaoh hardening his own heart that God hardened it for him.  God gave the people of Nineveh warning of impending judgment through the prophet Jonah so that they would repent because they did not even know their left hand from their right.  John the Baptist’s ministry is all about turning the Jews hearts to repentance.  Jesus’ life is full of examples of God’s mercy to people so that they would repent, “let him who is without sin cast the first stone.” “Where are your accusers?  Neither do I accuse you, go and sin no more.”  And just like the O.T. saints waiting by faith for the first coming of Christ, so too we are given the mercy of God to repent while we wait for his second coming at which time it will be too late.

Knowledge puffs up

God’s wisdom is full of mercy and grace because it knows better.  But knowledge or academia is full of pride and bristles with legalism as it is quick to judge.  It is more interested in achieving tenure and reacts with pride when challenged.  There is a saying “with knowledge comes power.”  Lust for power births envious, bitter, selfish ambition.  Lucifer was the morning star until… “He corrupted his wisdom by his beauty and splendor.”  Rather than be thankful in the knowledge of the position given him by God, his ambition was for more.  Knowledge puffs up the head with pride, it says, “look at what I know, am, can do”; but God’s wisdom is lowly, looking for ways to demonstrate its heart to help others.  What is the goal of our knowing; academia or service?  Like a two edged sword, you can’t have wisdom without knowledge, but you can have knowledge without true wisdom.  This is why James says the teacher has the greater judgment.  It is said that wisdom is the proper application of knowledge, so the key which God wants to do in you is to give you His wisdom as you tune your heart to knowing his Word.  “Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.” (Acts 17:11 NIV)

Wisdom is like God’s life in you

God gives his wisdom to those who want it most, like King Solomon pictured above who could have asked for anything in this life which God could give him.   He chose to ask for wisdom from above so that he could use it to rule God’s people better (application).  How bad do you want to be wise?  What do you want to do with it?  Like in Chapter 1 of this book, ask for wisdom and do not doubt and you shall receive it.  Asking for God’s wisdom is like asking for God to live his life in you.  What do you want to do with it?  Why do you want that degree?  Is it for personal gain and recognition or for improving your power to serve?  You can serve with Godly wisdom even without the degree.  The Pharisees recognized the simple disciples had the wisdom of Jesus.  Seek your degrees if God wants you to, but don’t let the system corrupt your wisdom by letting them go to your head.  Seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness.  Then these things will be added as well.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of James and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I AM the All Knowing God, Wisdom is my Essence. James 3:13-18

  1. strostrud says:

    I just read this in a book I am currently reading to expound the point of God’s nature: “God is the only being whose nature is characterized by unerringly knowing, desiring, and doing what is absolutely consistent with the laws of the universe. Righteousness is not just knowing what is proper, but acting on that knowledge. God’s omniscience gives Him perfect knowledge of what is right, and He has the power to do what is right, but He must also have the will to blend knowledge and power into action. It is this harmony of wisdom, ability, and behavior that enables the Bible to declare, “The LORD is righteous in everything he does.” George Barna Dr. Think Like Jesus: Make the Right Decision Every Time (Kindle Locations 929-932). Kindle Edition.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

