I AM the Reality replaced by the Illustration Heb 8:1 – 9:10

No more Religion and Facade.

I love the verse below that says “for they will all know me…”  This is because a time is

The Temple of God

An Illustration of the Heavenly Temple

coming where we shall see him face to face.  Then there will be no need for faith, for illustrations, pictures and symbols anymoreHis presence will be our physical realityNo more religion and façade.  Literally, every knee will bow to Him.  We will all see God’s glory directly.

Here in PNG we are hearing many stories of spiritual awakenings with loud sighs of relief taking place in the lives of people groups around the country when they hear, understand and accept the true Gospel of Christ’s finished work on the cross for their sin.  Free from religious works to gain favor from various spirits or the white man’s God.  The reality of what God did through Christ for them makes obsolete all human religion both Jewish as well as every other form, for they are all just pictures and imitations of the true spiritual reality found in Christ.  I apologize for the length of this post but it is imperative we see God’s heart here to make new creatures, acceptable in his sight.

Religion is just a copy or shadow

Hebrews 8:1 The point of what we are saying is this: We do have such a high priest, who sat down at the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in heaven, 2 and who serves in the sanctuary, the true tabernacle set up by the Lord, not by man. 3 Every (earthly) high priest is appointed to offer both gifts and sacrifices, and so it was necessary for this one also to have something to offer. 4 If he were on earth, he would not be a priest, for there are already men who offer the gifts prescribed by the law. 5 They serve at a sanctuary that is a copy and shadow of what is in heaven. This is why Moses was warned when he was about to build the tabernacle: “See to it that you make everything according to the pattern shown you on the mountain.6 But the ministry Jesus has received is as superior to theirs as the covenant of which he is mediator is superior to the old one, and it is founded on better promises. 7 For if there had been nothing wrong with that first covenant, no place would have been sought for another. 8 But God found fault with the people and said:

“The time is coming, declares the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah. 9 It will not be like the covenant I made with their forefathers when I took them by the hand to lead them out of Egypt, because they did not remain faithful to my covenant, and I turned away from them, declares the Lord.

10 This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time, declares the Lord. I will put my laws in their minds and write them on their hearts.  I will be their God, and they will be my people. 11 No longer will a man teach his neighbor, or a man his brother, saying, ‘Know the Lord,’ because they will all know me, from the least of them to the greatest. 12 For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”

13 By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and aging will soon disappear.

The Earthly Tabernacle is just an illustration

9  Now the first covenant had regulations for worship and also an earthly sanctuary. 2 A Tabernacle diagramtabernacle was set up. In its first room were the lampstand, the table and the consecrated bread; this was called the Holy Place. 3 Behind the second curtain was a room called the Most Holy Place, 4 which had the golden altar of incense and the gold-covered ark of the covenant. This ark contained the gold jar of manna, Aaron’s staff that had budded, and the stone tablets of the covenant. 5 Above the ark were the cherubim of the Glory, overshadowing the atonement cover. But we cannot discuss these things in detail now. 6 When everything had been arranged like this, the priests entered regularly into the outer room to carry on their ministry. 7 But only the high priest entered the inner room, and that only once a year, and never without blood, which he offered for himself and for the sins the people had committed in ignorance. 8 The Holy Spirit was showing by this that the way into the Most Holy Place had not yet been disclosed as long as the first tabernacle was still standing. 9 This is an illustration for the present time, indicating that the gifts and sacrifices being offered were not able to clear the conscience of the worshiper. 10 They are only a matter of food and drink and various ceremonial washings—external regulations applying until the time of the new order.

 Who are you Lord? 

I AM the reality of the symbolism of the Temple system with everything in it.   In the proper succession and progression of my revelation, it is imperative as humans that you understand through this physical illustration of what the reality is in heaven.  Without my Law, you would have no clue of your physical shortcomings of breaking my covenant, nor would you feel the need of my provision to cleanse you through the Temple system.  Just as the Prophet Isaiah recognized his shortcoming when he saw me in his heavenly vision and needed me to cleanse his lips with the hot coals from my altar.  The Law shows your lost condition compared to my holiness so that you can appreciate my provision of a sacrificial substitution for you.

I AM your physical creator, and I AM also your re-creator to make you capable of seeing me face to face as Adam did.  All of this I have done for you through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross so that you can dwell with me for eternity.  This I did to make you acceptable in my presence.  There is nothing for you to do now.  Simply allow me to include you in that substitutionary work. 

Symbolism is not to replace reality

You get so caught up in the physical symbolism, the ritualism, that you miss the point.  Everything in this physical existence is to prepare you for your life in Heaven one day.  The symbolism is to point you to my reality not replace it.  A day is coming when my people Israel will want me like my bride – the Gentile/Jewish church does now.  Then I will bring my new order to earth – a thousand years of my truly righteous rule on this planet – the fulfillment of my promises to the saints of old.  There will be no more religion with its illustrations, rituals and symbols, for the reality of my kingdom will be present; on earth as it is in heaven. 

Jesus is the reality of the Temple system

Everything in the Tabernacle and the Temple were pictures or illustrations of the reality found in Jesus Christ.  Jesus is the veil that separated the holy place from the Holy of Holies, and hid God from man, as when he said “it is finished” the veil tore from the top down, making a way for man to go to God and as he said “I AM the Way…”  Jesus is the lampstand as he said I AM the light of the world. He is the table of showbread as he said I AM the bread of life.  He is the Ark of the Covenant as he is our Emanuel – God with us.  He is the laver in that he is the only one who can cleanse us, not just our exterior but our consciences as well.  He cleanses us as the priests cleansed themselves in the water of the Laver.  Jesus is represented by the Levitical Law the perfection of holiness.  And he is the sacrifice on the altar as we will see next week.  He is the curtain that surrounded the Tabernacle, as he said “no one comes to the father except through me” and “I am the door: by me if any man enter in, he shall be saved…”  The altar of incense represents God’s holiness where coals from the sacrificial altar were sprinkled with incense once a year.  Blood (atonement) and incense (holiness) both requirements met in Christ offering himself.  There is much more to be said, suffice it to say God gave us the copy to see the reality in Christ, whereas man makes the imitation and is satisfied with what he has accomplished.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of Hebrews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I AM the Reality replaced by the Illustration Heb 8:1 – 9:10

  1. mkjackie99 says:

    Found your blog while looking for a chart of the temple or tabernacle for my small group! Looks like a great blog -can’t wait to read more of it. BUT, may I use your image of the tabernacle above with my group at church? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

