I AM the God who became human for your sake Heb 2:5-18

I AM the God who became human

The last couple of posts were on Christ’s divinity so today’s post will be about his

The second Adam

humanity.  Both subjects have been debated over the millennia.  Only God can save mankind by fulfilling and upholding all of God’s own perfect, righteous, holy Commandments in this life.  But only his own perfect sinless human life is pure enough to be the blood sacrifice.  Thus we have the two elements of the new covenant pictured in the communion.  God becoming man fits these requirements.  Jesus fulfilled the law in his body during his life and the sacrifices by his death.  “The Word became flesh and dwelt among us…” “They shall call him Emmanuel – God with us.”  “Behold the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world.”  Jesus loved to call himself the “Son of Man”. “Behold the man”.

Jesus Made Like His Brothers to taste death for us

5 It is not to angels that he has subjected the world to come, about which we are speaking. 6 But there is a place where someone has testified:

“What is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man (the Christ) that you care for him? 7You made him a little lower than the angels; you crowned him with glory and honor  8 and put everything under his feet.” In putting everything under him, God left nothing that is not subject to him. Yet at present we do not see everything subject to him. 9 But we see Jesus, who was made a little lower than the angels, now crowned with glory and honor because he suffered death, so that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. 10 In bringing many sons to glory, it was fitting that God, for whom and through whom everything exists, should make the author of their salvation perfect through suffering. 11 Both the one who makes men holy and those who are made holy are of the same family. So Jesus is not ashamed to call them brothers.

12 He says, “I will declare your name to my brothers; in the presence of the congregation I will sing your praises.”

13 And again, “I will put my trust in him.”

And again he says, “Here am I, and the children God has given me.”

14 Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might destroy him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil15 and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death. 16 For surely it is not angels he helps, but Abraham’s descendants. 17 For this reason he had to be made like his brothers in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. 18 Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.

 Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who made man my greatest creation and placed him above all the created world.  But Adam chose rather to live otherwise losing his position giving up the earth to Satan’s control.  I became human in order to destroy the power of death and the devil.  I de-clawed the Lion.  I de-fanged the dragon, that serpent of old. I removed the stinger of death.  When I “messed with the bull”, I didn’t get the horns, I removed them.  I wrote a loophole into the law that says all men must die, because “I am the resurrection and the life”.  The saying now goes like this, “all men must just pay taxes”.  Satan got Adam to try to be divine in his own accord, to be his own god in his own way.  But I came to make you (Adam’s descendants) divine by freely placing you in my Son.  I left my place in glory so that I could taste death for you and give you the home in heaven that you were originally purposefully made to occupy some day.  

 I AM the God who loves you so much that I became one of you; “a little lower than the angels”, in order to know firsthand what you are going through so that I can help you.  I AM absolutely Holy, and as such, I must make you holy so that you can be acceptable to me and be allowed in my presence.  I came to share in your humanity so that I can be a merciful and faithful high priest making atonement for your sins so you can share in my divinity when we are reunited in eternity.  In the mean time, provided you have received my gift of life, you are positionally placed in me above the authority of Satan himself.  Stand fast in the freedom that I have paid for to give you.

God’s plan was to become human and die for man

Satan thought that if he could destroy God’s special creation – man in the garden, then He would win and rule forever.  God cursed the serpent and prophesied to Satan that a man would come to destroy Satan’s newly won authority.  Because of this, he has been hell bent to stop God by killing the righteous line of men starting with Abel, and the Jewish children in Egypt to the Jewish children in Bethlehem.  What he did not take into consideration was God’s plan all along was precisely that, to come and die for mankind.  Satan wanted to kill the Son of Man so that Jesus would not be able to dethrone him from having authority over the earth.  But by killing him on the cross through the hand of man, his kingdom, authority and power over humanity was taken from him by Jesus vs 14-18.  Now all authority is placed under Jesus’ feet, and he gives us that authority in Him.

Appreciate your freedom.  “Walk in newness of life”.  “Put on the Lord Jesus”.  “Resist the devil and he will flee from you”.  “When Christ who is your life returns, you will appear with him in glory”.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of Hebrews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

