I AM the God who is TRYING to get your attention. Heb 2:1-4

What fills the vacuum of your heart?

Pay More Careful Attention

God did so much for us to show his salvation that if we don’t value it, then we have no excuse when we are held accountable for what we did not do with it. ‎He revealed it, and then gave us his apostles to explain it, and then he confirmed it with power, signs and miracles to validate it in our lives. ‎When this saving message is not valuable enough to us to know, we will “wander away from it” as it says in Timothy.   Rom 1: 28 says”since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, He gave them over to depraved minds.”  We don’t willingly intend to leave it, but rather we just seem to wander away from it for other things.  We tend to ignore those things which become commonplace or familiar, like God.  But, the vacuum of our heart must be filled.  What will that be if not God?

‎God will let something fill it when we turn from him, but then God will allow that thing to rot in our soul until we confess it and turn back to him.   Hag 2:15-19.  Nothing can take Gods place unchallenged.  The Egyptians looked to the Nile River for life, they actually worshiped it.  Yet Yaweh was not to be challenged as Lord.  He told Moses to turn the Nile into blood (death) to show them who really has the power of life.

Warning to Pay Attention

Heb 2:1-4  We must pay more careful attention, therefore, to what we have heard, so that we do not drift away. 2 For if the message spoken by angels was binding, and every violation and disobedience received its just punishment, 3 how shall we escape if we ignore such a great salvation? This salvation, which was first announced by the Lord, was confirmed to us by those who heard him. 4 God also testified to it by signs, wonders and various miracles, and gifts of the Holy Spirit distributed according to his will.

 Who are you Lord? 

I AM the God who is trying to get your attention.  I announced my Gospel through the prophets of old, and then fulfilled those promises by coming to earth.   I gave you apostles who witnessed my words and works among you and through them I have given you my Word.  I gave power to them to do signs and wonders to show my power and prove their authority.  And finally I gave you my Spirit to personally confirm in your heart and in the eyes of those around you that I am telling you the truth. 

Wake up.  Open your eyes.  Listen to my reasoning. My Law demanded perfection or else you perished.  Now my grace provides you with forgiveness and a relationship with me of your own free will.  But if you ignore it, you will drift away from me and chase the things of this world. Like every relationship, you must pay attention to me, or one day you will wake up and notice my presence missing and your life seems empty and meaningless.  Not that I am not with you always, but that I am silent. 

How much do you appreciate my salvation?  Am I just old hat to you?  Is my Word just a book of stories to you?   Has the desire to live for my mission become a burden?  Are you losing hope of the certainty of my return?  Pay more careful attention then.  Like I told the church in Ephesus, “remember the height from which you have fallen and do the works which you did at the first”.  Or like I told the Jews In Deuteronomy to beware when after they took over the promised land not to forget the Lord – but they did anyway.  And in Haggai how “I struck all the work of your hands with blight, mildew, and hail, yet you did not turn to me“.

I AM a Jealous God and I will share my glory with none other.  I will remove my hand of blessing to get your attention if you make me, so “PAY MORE CAREFUL ATTENTION to what you have heard”. 

But you got to want to want it.

God’s salvation is free for the taking.  But you got to want to want it.  Knowledge of the Holy one is there in his Word for all to know.  But you got to want Him for him to reveal himself to you.  If you find that you just don’t want him enough to study,  then pray that God will create that hunger in you.

I have told this story before but it fits in well here.  I remember when our son did not want

Are you really hungry?

to eat his spaghetti one night.  We told him that he had to finish it, and that he couldn’t eat anything else until he did.  So he gladly left the table.  The next morning there was his spaghetti heated and waiting for him.  No thank you.  But come lunch time, he gladly ate the spaghetti because he was hungry.

God reveals himself through his word to those who are truly hungry.  He creates the situation in our lives to show us how much we need him until we are hungry enough to do something about it.  Our salvation is a free gift, however our faith even though it is also a free gift, costs us in time and priorities regarding what we hold dear if we are to grow in our faith and knowledge of Him.  Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

There is a great link to a devotional bible study on “Facebook” to Miles Stanford “none but the hungry heart”.  He also has his own website which I highly recommend.  He is the author of a number of books on spiritual matters for helping us grow in our faith.  But you gotta wanna.   Are you hungry?  Dig in.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of Hebrews, Who are you Lord? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

