I AM, Elohim, Jesus, Yaweh, the Tri-une God. Hebrews 1:5-13

The trinity – The tri-une nature of God.

Scripture seems to contradict itself

I AM, Elohim, Yaweh, Jesus, The Lord

between the Old Testament and the New Testament, but only if you refuse to believe the concept.  Right from the beginning of the Bible, God uses the plural form (elo-him) in introducing himself at creation, and in the making of man he says “Let us make man in our image”.  Cults refuse to believe the concept of the divinity of Christ.  Some allow for him to be a lesser god.  But there are plenty of passages which dispel these arguments.  Hebrews chapter one is one of such passages which shows the divinity of the Son.   I underlined the emphasis on who is talking.  The bold text is what the Father says of the Second person of the Trinity – the Son – Christ.  (Parentheses are mine)

5 For to which of the angels did God ever say, “You are my Son; today I have become your Father”?  Or again, “I will be his Father, and he will be my Son”?

6 And again, when God brings his firstborn into the world, he says, “Let all God’s angels worship him.”

7 In speaking of the angels he says, “He makes his angels winds, his servants flames of fire.”

8 But about the Son he says, “Your throne, O God, (God the Father calls God the son – God) will last forever and ever, and righteousness will be the scepter of your kingdom.  9You have loved righteousness and hated wickedness; therefore God, your God, (God the Father states his own authority over God the Son) has set you above your companions  by anointing you with the oil of joy.”

10 He also says, “In the beginning, O Lord, (the Father calls him Lord here) you laid the foundations of the earth, and the heavens are the work of your hands.  11They will perish, but you remain; they will all wear out like a garment. 12You will roll them up like a robe; like a garment they will be changed. But you remain the same, and your years will never end.”

13 To which of the angels did God ever say, “Sit at my right hand until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet”?

Who are you Lord?

I AM the eternal God.  I AM the second person of the tri-une God – the creator of the heavens and earth.  I was eternally there before the heavens and earth existed, and I will be there eternally afterwards.  I am the uncaused cause of the universe.  I made this present age for you to know me and choose to worship me.  I made all these things, not because I needed them, but out of my love for you because I knew that you would need them. 

I AM the God who is to be worshiped by men and angels and my name is Jesus.  Angels know and worship me. Demons know and fear me.  Creation was made to reveal my glory.  The Magi knew and worshiped me at my birth.  The animal and plant world were made to obey me.  Even the seas, wind and waves obey me.  Only man has chosen not to know or worship me.  But in the end, even all my enemies will see me, acknowledge who I AM and worship me

 This is why I had to come to my creation myself.  I could not leave this important work in the hands of angels or men.  I had to come myself to redeem you back to me so we can live together eternally.  As the saying goes, “If you want something done right you’ve got to do it yourself.”  So I did – in Jesus.

 I AM God; I made this world and will destroy it someday.  I care so much for you that I redeemed you to myself.  Just as I promised, I will come again and rightly rule the world, not as a politician with a majority rule, but with my righteousness and true justice.  As God, I will legislate righteousness on earth with an Iron scepter.  Ready or not, here I come…

Only God is to be worshiped –  The 1st and 2nd commandments.

In Jesus’ life on earth, he allowed people to worship him.  In the above passage though, we see God the Father calling Jesus – God.  God also tells angels to worship him.  And when he rode into Jerusalem that day on the donkey, if the people hadn’t been crying “hosanna”, Jesus said that “the rocks themselves would have cried out” in praise of their creator and redeemer.  The significance of this point is that this is blasphemy if not true of him.  Thus if Jesus was just a man, or even a lesser god (small “g”) he broke God’s commandments in allowing this worship of himself as someone besides God.  This then would make Jesus a liar, megalomaniac or insane but in any case certainly a sinner; thus, he was not a very good man as some claim him to be.

The Jews knew who Jesus was claiming to be

Isaiah says that there is only one God.  God Himself says that He is only one.  The Old Testament is full of passages claiming that there is only one God.  The New Testament shows us clearly that Jesus claimed to be Divine (see John chapters 8-10).  The proof of what Jesus claimed can be seen in the reaction of the Jewish Pharisees who knew exactly what Jesus was saying and tried to kill him on a number of occasions because of it.  Along with the above passage, we can be assured that Jesus is God in flesh.  God became a man in Jesus Christ.  One God – Three offices.   We call it the Trinity.  We can’t understand it in this life; it is one of those things we have to take by faith now.  In heaven of course there will be no need for explanation as we will see him face to face.

Why is this so important?

Because your sins are so great, that only God himself can eradicate them.  He is the cure for your sin.  Thus only a pure, righteous, holy God can remove it from you; not a lesser god, not a good man, not an exemplary life.  Only the life giver can remove your debt of death, and he did that by taking your place in death for you.  Is that not enough reason for you to worship him?

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of Hebrews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

