I AM Light, and I AM the source of understanding Philemon 4-7

Understanding comes by use

When it comes to information, the saying holds true; “if you don’t use it, you lose it”.  I

Yield to the light you have

have forgotten more information than I care to admit due to lack of use of that information.  Concepts in math, scuba diving, pilot regulations, and unfortunately many of the verses in God’s Word that I had memorized as a young believer 30 years ago are all but forgotten.  Why?  Because I don’t use them to encourage and win others to Christ as I used to.  Don’t you hate it when someone asks you an important question, and you cannot remember that perfect verse which deals with the question?

On the flip side, by using the knowledge or understanding we do have to share Christ with others gives us even greater confidence in that knowledge as well as reveals to us where we are still lacking so that we can continue to study in those areas to become more effective.  And the more effective in our understanding, the more we tend to not be afraid to share it with others.

Thanksgiving and Prayer

Phil 1:4   I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers, 5 because I hear about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints. 6 I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ. 7 Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints.

Who are you Lord?

I AM The God of love who puts my love for others in your hearts.  Only when you have my love can you hope to impact the lives of others and to be able to share me and the hope that I hold out to humanity with them.  I have given so much to you in Christ my Son and in my word.  Only as you know my joy will you be able to share it with others, and consequently it will be established in you all the more. 

I AM the God of encouragement

Only when you are encouraged in me can you encourage others.  You cannot give what I have not already given to you firstly.  When you step out in faith and open your mouth, my Spirit will speak through you.  As you speak out in faith, you will gain better understanding for yourself.  The more you share my blessings as part of your life with others, the better you will see them evident in your life.  This is why in Deuteronomy I told the Israelites to discuss my law with others when they walked about on the road, laid down at night, when they sat at the table and where ever they were.  To keep them in the midst of their conversation with others and in their forethoughts at all times.  “Speak to one another in Psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs”.  “encourage one another and so much the more as you see the day approaching”.  “But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness”.

The alternative is academics

Once we revert to the mentality of academics with regard to our knowledge of God’s Word, we miss the point, we become stagnant and pharisaical. God’s Word is not meant to be memorized and forgotten.  It is to be brandished daily as we live in this fallen, sin controlled world.  We are to be about the job of rescuing people by our witness and knowledge of the truth.  If we don’t share it, we will forget it.  Then not even our own lives will be changed.  “Study to show yourself approved, a workman who needs not be ashamed.”  “These things have I written that you may know that you have eternal life.”  “Be ready to give an answer for the hope that is within you.” “Your word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against you.” “How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them?”

Remember the saying, “Light yielded to, yields more light.”

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Philemon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

