I AM the God who Invented doing good. Titus 3:12-15

We need to put our money where our mouth is.

If we claim to love others and do nothing to meet their needs, then what good are we to the

You have to learn to do good

Lord’s glory?  It doesn’t just have to do with money obviously, but where your heart is, for there is where you treasure will be also.  This is not our natural predisposition.  We have to learn or educate ourselves to observe where the needs of others are and let the Lord direct us how to be about his business of doing good.  Obviously sometimes it is better not to give money, but at least do something else for them; God will show you how, but only when you are truly interested.  How many of us are enslaved by our passions and pleasures like verse 3 in my previous post says to the point that we forget all about what God’s passion is?  Please read 2 Cor 9:10-14 which goes hand in hand with the purpose of this passage.

 Our people must learn to devote themselves to doing good.

Final Remarks

12 As soon as I send Artemas or Tychicus to you, do your best to come to me at Nicopolis, because I have decided to winter there. 13 Do everything you can to help Zenas the lawyer and Apollos on their way and see that they have everything they need. 14 Our people must learn to devote themselves to doing what is good, in order that they may provide for daily necessities and not live unproductive lives. 15 Everyone with me sends you greetings. Greet those who love us in the faith. Grace be with you all.

 I AM the God who helps the needy

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who helps the needy through my church.  As my people are aware of needs, they must realize that I have provided for them with that reason in mind.  In the first church my people understood this principle because it resulted in the fact that nobody had any more needs.  Not some kind of communism but that nobody had any needs.  But then famine came to Jerusalem, so I asked the church abroad to help them which they did gladly.  My desire is that I help people through you- my church.  You must learn to devote yourself to letting me meet people’s need through you.  This requires keeping your eyes open to the needs around you, and your heart open to the Holy Spirit’s prompting within you.  You must learn to do this as humans are naturally self-centered.

I AM a generous God who desires to bless people so that they can spread my blessings around.  I AM a good God who wants to provide for you so that you can participate in this work, and so that you do not live unproductive lives.   

I have given you jobs to meet your needs, do not take that for granted.  And I bring people into your lives to give you an opportunity to help with the abundance I have given you.  Just imagine – you can be involved in my work in helping the needy for my glory so that people will praise God because of your participation with me in their lives.  But it requires that you look for opportunities to be involved. To be mindful of God’s passion.

 What is our focus on, if not on doing good?

This is where the church stands or falls, grows or diminishes.  How well does the pastor direct the member’s attention to the working of God in the needs around them and around their church?  If the church is internally focused, it will implode, but if it is externally focused, then it will explode to God’s glory.  I would imagine that a church, who directs the people to be involved in doing good towards the community’s needs and those of the hurting of this world, will draw people who want to make a difference in this world like a magnet.  Changing the world takes education, knowledge, devotion and will power to put others before our own interests.  Remember what Peter and John did when they went to the temple to  pray?  They focused on the needs of the lame man and the results were amazing.  Even though they didn’t have money to put where there mouth was, the results were the same.

All for Titus,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Titus and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I AM the God who Invented doing good. Titus 3:12-15

  1. savedbygrace says:

    @”We need to put our money where our mouth is”
    …………..
    exactly what James is saying!

    if only preachers today preaches the true gospel, and the power of God will manifest

    when a crippled man begging Peter and John for money,
    they look at him and Peter said

    “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk”
    – Acts 3:6

    perhaps the best thing we can do today is give wheel chairs to cripples. but I a looking forward to that day when the true gospel is preach without blemish or mixture and the power of God manifest
    “Rise take up your bed and walk!”

    – grace and peace

    • strostrud says:

      Thanks for this note,
      Much harder to change a mindset than to throw a couple of coins at the problem. I hope that I am speaking to more than just myself in this. God really wants to glorify himself through us but he won’t until we look through his eyes.
      Until that day, keep believing.

Leave a Reply

