I AM the great Promise Keeper Titus 1:1-4

Paul is saying that God gave him the very words of his letters to give to us.  These words

God’s word is his bond

are worthy of our belief and they are worthy of our studying them so we can have confidence in God’s promises of eternal life.  This kind of confident faith requires our reading and understanding, our agreeing with and being convinced of them as true, and as a result changing our will to subscribe to and apply what we now know is truth.  With this knowledge from God we must choose between a lifestyle which is honoring to God and a lifestyle based on what the World system has to offer.  All men from Adam to now, have had to make the choice between God’s eternal word and whatever current philosophy they faced, be it pantheism to evolution. Consider your choice carefully as it has eternal repercussions.

1    Paul, a servant of God and an apostle of Jesus Christ for the faith of God’s elect and the knowledge of the truth that leads to godliness— 2 a faith and knowledge resting on the hope of eternal life, which God, who does not lie, promised before the beginning of time, 3 and at his appointed season he brought his word to light through the preaching entrusted to me by the command of God our Savior, 4 To Titus, my true son in our common faith: Grace and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Savior.

Who are you Lord?

  I AM the great promise keeper.  From eternity past I have given my Word to humans and My Word never fails. I AM the God who desires to communicate with man.  I have given my Eternal Word to you at the appointed time through my chosen apostles and prophets to give you life and hope. I want all men to know me and live with me as stated in my Word. 

My word is not some mindless mantra but rather it is authoritative truth to establish your faith in me. 

My word is to show you what my godliness looks like so that you can emulate me. 

My word reveals your sinful nature and why this world is so messed up; both of which is to show you how much you need me. 

My word tells you what is going to happen in this life and the next so you can have certainty in this temporary existence. 

My word is a certainty based on my promise to you because I AM faithful and I never lie. 

My word is a certainty to inspire you to do greater things than to serve your own interests. 

My word is a certainty of my grace and peace to sustain you through the trials and dark days to come.

My word is a certainty that you will reign forever with me because you have chosen to take my word at face value and believe. 

Those who take me at my Word will never be put to shame.  Those who take me at my Word will see wondrous things done for them.  They can truly experience my faithfulness like Abraham and all the saints of old did.  

Take me at my word, rest on my word, hope in my word, for I will not lie to you.  I also cannot do wrong, so if you  trust me, I will not let you down no matter how hard the circumstances are.   

However, you need to know my Word properly so that you can trust and not presume. 

I have mentioned this before in previous posts but look at what the Christian’s hope is founded on.  It is more like the confidence that comes from a guarantee.  This kind of confidence allows us to rest in peace by faith.  We don’t have to worry about our eternal condition but rather we can step out on guarantees and live life for others knowing that God has our back.  Don’t confuse this with promised success and prosperity in this life though.

Our hope in Christ is certain, not like the hope which the world has or religions try to provide like that of winning a lottery or of “hoping” that we are good enough to get into heaven someday but not sure; religion believes that we will find out when our good works are weighed against our bad deeds.  These are wishy-washy.  This is not the Christian’s confidence.  Our hope is sure and secure.  Our hope is promised with a written guarantee.  Our hope is not based on human merit, rather on the word of God believed in by faith and relied on by your will.  This is what God is saying in this not so simple greeting of Paul’s.
More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Titus, Who are you Lord? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

