I AM the God of all strength, 2 Tim 4:9-18

To Christian workers around the globe, this is for you.  I know what it is like to be hard at

We all think that our service/ sacrifices is the best.

the Lord’s work with so much to accomplish and yet so few who want to help.   So here are two things for your consideration:  God is the one who motivates people to be involved in his work and not you (as I have said before, I think it is a greater miracle than salvation to see believers get involved in his work), so pray the Lord of the harvest to send forth workers into his field.   And two, your responsibility and accountability is not based on whether others pull their weight or not, so pray for strength to be faithful in doing your ministry regardless. 

Personal Remarks

2 Tim 4: 9 Do your best to come to me quickly, 10 for Demas, because he loved this world, has deserted me and has gone to Thessalonica. Crescens has gone to Galatia, and Titus to Dalmatia. 11 Only Luke is with me. Get Mark and bring him with you, because he is helpful to me in my ministry. 12 I sent Tychicus to Ephesus. 13 When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, and my scrolls, especially the parchments. 14 Alexander the metalworker did me a great deal of harm. The Lord will repay him for what he has done. 15 You too should be on your guard against him, because he strongly opposed our message. 16 At my first defense, no one came to my support, but everyone deserted me. May it not be held against them. 17 But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it. And I was delivered from the lion’s mouth. 18 The Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom. To him be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who gives you strength.  I AM the faithful God who sticks closer than a brother.  When all others fail you, know that you can count on me.  I will not make your load easier, but will give you strength to bear it.  I will not remove temptation from you, but will help you bear up under it.  I will not remove problems, but will give you wisdom from heaven to solve them if you believe.  I will not make this earth a better place to live in at this time, but will later give you a new one; a heavenly one.

  I told Peter, when he asked me, “what about him”, (pointing at John).  I said, “what if he lives until I come back, what is that to you?” To each one I call to different circumstances, but what is that to you?  If I allow you hardship and another a life of ease, what is that to you?  You follow me in faith and depend upon my grace and strength for your reward may be greater than theirs.  But just as in the parable of the workers in the field, I will pay each of them the wage I deem best, even though they all started at different times.  Just remain faithful and steadfast to what I have called you to, and I will give you strength in your hardships as you go about my business.

 All too often we desire fairness and equality in our sacrifices to the Lord.  How absurd to think so.  Our sin nature is never satisfied because we always think of our own sacrifice and suffering as greater than another’s.  We also deem our service greater than others.  If we were to receive real fairness, we should expect crucifixion and martyrdom as Christ and the Apostles faced. For Jesus said, “For no servant is greater than his master, if they persecuted me they will persecute you…”  Jn 15:20

Why is it like Martha we are so caught up in the fairness of the sacrifices we are expected to make?  Why is it harder for us to wash someone else’s dirty dishes than to leave our home country to sacrifice our lives overseas?  Let us serve with joy and run the race the master has laid before each of us and not worry about the other servants, for who are you to judge another man’s servant.  In our service let us labor with all of Christ’s energy and leave the results to him.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 2 Timothy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I AM the God of all strength, 2 Tim 4:9-18

  1. Newly New says:

    Hard truths, brother, but solid ones. Extraordinary reminder. This speaks to where i am, and chastises my deceitful heart. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

