Who are you Lord? I AM Real, are you? 2 Tim 3, 4

Why would anyone want to kill the Christ or for that matter, any of the Apostles?  What

Can people indict you for being a believer?

was so hated about their message?  Was it not genuine love, absolute truth and a heartfelt concern for the eternal destiny of everyone they encountered?  But more pertinently for us today is the question, why then are we not being dealt with in the same way as they, since we claim to have the same message of truth and salvation?  Obviously something is different about our message. 

Paul’s Charge to Timothy

2 Tim 3:10–4:8  You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance, 11 persecutions, sufferings—what kinds of things happened to me in Antioch, Iconium and Lystra, the persecutions I endured. Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them. 12 In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, 13 while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived. 14 But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, 15 and how from infancy you have known the holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. 16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

4 1 In the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who will judge the living and the dead, and in view of his appearing and his kingdom, I give you this charge: 2 Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction. 3 For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear. 4 They will turn their ears away from the truth and turn aside to myths. 5 But you, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry. 6 For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time has come for my departure. 7 I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing. (NIV)

Who are you Lord?

I AM real and I want you to be as well.  My truth and my actions in your life are life changing.  I am not playing some religious game with you.  I did not die for nothing so you can live your happy go lucky lives.  Have you read my Word?  I have left you on earth for a purpose.  I AM the soon coming righteous judge.  Are you ready and looking forward to stand before me, even possibly today, to have me weigh your obedience to me at my appearing?  Are you convinced or concerned that I AM coming with my reward in my hands? 

My Word is to change your life to be like mine.  It says: “Everyone who wants to live a godly life will be persecuted” provided you live like me and my Apostles that is.  Granted, if your righteous behavior is not sticking out in society, nobody will have a problem with you, and Satan won’t shoot his darts at you – but what good is that to me or everyone who is perishing?  If my doctrine is in your heart, then your life, purpose, faith, love, endurance and teaching will show it to everyone around you.  But so will your suffering and persecution be evident.  Be real, put your faith into action, don’t be an “impostor”, don’t go through the motions.

People are turning away from me and my word to myths (evolution, new age, humanism, materialism, etc.) because they cannot endure sound doctrine.  Why? Is it not because they can’t see anyone making a stand for of it.  Be an example.  Stand up for your convictions.  Let my light shine through you.  But beware, people won’t like it.

Is your life and doctrine obvious to others?  Do you want to be one of those Christians that are “turning the world upside down” like in Paul’s day?  If you were put on trial for being a Christian, is there enough evidence to convict you?  Or does your lifestyle acquit you of being a Christian?  Are you OK with that?  Should you be?  “If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.Lk 9:26 NIV”

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 2 Timothy, Religion, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

