I AM the God who gives Eternal glory freely, 2 Tim 2:1-13

Here is an offer too good NOT to be true.  God the maker of heaven and earth is offering

God’s glory is eternal and free to those who want it.

you ETERNAL GLORY in His Son Jesus.  Satan tempted humanity with the same goal that he had for himself, that of, to become like God.  He told Eve “You will be like God” but on your own terms, in your own strength.  As a result we have all kinds of religions today.  Man has always reached for godhood on his own terms and by his own merit.  However, God’s offer, which is on His terms, is free to us all.  In Christianity, God offers us to share his own glory freely by faith.  Then and only then will it change your life, and that life change will reach those around you but at a cost. 

2   You then, my son, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus. 2 And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable men who will also be qualified to teach others. 3 Endure hardship with us like a good soldier of

Good soldiers endure hardship

Christ Jesus. 4 No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs—he wants to please his commanding officer. 5 Similarly, if anyone competes as an athlete, he does not receive the victor’s crown unless he competes according to the rules. 6 The hardworking farmer should be the first to receive a share of the crops. 7 Reflect on what I am saying, for the Lord will give you insight into all this.  8 Remember Jesus Christ, raised from the dead, descended from David. This is my gospel, 9 for which I am suffering even to the point of being chained like a criminal. But God’s word is not chained. 10 Therefore I endure everything for the sake of the elect, that they too may obtain the salvation that is in Christ Jesus, with ETERNAL GLORY11 Here is a trustworthy saying:  If we died with him, we will also live with him; 12 if we endure, we will also reign with him.  If we disown him, he will also disown us; 13 if we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself. [1]

‎Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who calls you to experience the divine life.  I AM your father.  I have given you my grace.  I have chosen you to share my life with others who want to be like me also.  If you want to make Christ like disciples, then you also must let me make you Christ like as well.  Like begets like.  But what do you think that involves?  It takes dedication, integrity and conviction.

‎Soldiers take many trials and battles to become mature, and gain rank.  Remember Gideon’s  three hundred men of Israel that I chose out of the thousands of men?   Athletes must forego many comforts of this world to become good enough to compete to win and they must adhere to the rules with integrity.  “You gotta want it to win it.”  And farmers must endure the rains as well as the intense sun to get fruit from their dedicated labor.  His motivation is the feeding of his family so that they won’t starve.  Everything takes motivation if you want to succeed bad enough.  So too, it takes dedication and sacrifice to attain the goals of maturity and ministry.

‎In all this, it is I who orchestrates the circumstances to make you like me.  It is I who determines who will share my eternal glory, and who will live with me forever and who will reign by my side in heaven.  So, I AM extending my invitation to you, should you so desire, to endure to the end.  If you die with me, you will live with me as well, if you endure with me, you will reign with me too.  If you do not choose me, then I will send you to a place where you don’t have to look at my eternal glory.

‎‎What is God worth to you?  Where does he stand in your priorities?  Is he worth being first in your life?  Are you fanatically following him like a soldier or an athlete or a farmer who dedicate their lives to their trades?  It takes discipline, time and effort to prove that dedication.  Our human nature wants to think that we are doing this naturally.  But most Christians, I would assume, don’t have the dedication to be real Disciples of Christ.  We say that we are in the Lord’s army, but are we really battle ready?  Are we ready to run the race in our current spiritual condition?  Are our spiritual gardens full of the fruit of righteousness or do they just produce leeks and onions of Egypt?   

How do you train?  How do you receive power?  How do you get your priorities right?  How do you receive your marching orders?  How can we make a difference in this world?  It takes dedication, commitment, sacrifice, integrity and prayer.  That is our corporate and private weapon, our strength and means of our greatest work.

More to come,

Steve


[1] The Holy Bible: New International Version (Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 1984), 2 Ti 2.

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in 2 Timothy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

