Who are you Lord? I AM the returning King – I will “save the planet” 2 Thess 2:2-12

This world seems to be racing into chaos again, degenerating at a rapid pace because of His Return will be viewed globallylawlessness.  But hold on tight because LIKE IT OR NOT, JESUS WILL RETURN!  This passage talks of this lawlessness and the man of lawlessness who will eventually rule the world and set himself up to be worshiped above all gods in the world.  As bleak as this picture is, I see that God knows all about it and has power not only to detain him now, but will also destroy him at his glorious appearing.   Fear not, as disturbing as life is becoming, nothing and no one can thwart God’s plan or his power but it will accomplish everything just as His word declares it.

The Man of Lawlessness

2  Concerning the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ and our being gathered to him, we ask you, brothers, 2 not to become easily unsettled or alarmed by some prophecy, report or letter supposed to have come from us, saying that the day of the Lord has already come. 3 Don’t let anyone deceive you in any way, for that day will not come until the rebellion occurs and the man of lawlessness is revealed, the man doomed to destruction. 4 He will oppose and will exalt himself over everything that is called God or is worshiped, so that he sets himself up in God’s temple, proclaiming himself to be God. 5 Don’t you remember that when I was with you I used to tell you these things? 6 And now you know what is holding him back, so that he may be revealed at the proper time. 7 For the secret power of lawlessness is already at work; but THE ONE who now holds it back will continue to do so till HE is taken out of the way. 8 and then the lawless one will be revealed, whom the Lord Jesus will overthrow with the breath of his mouth and destroy by the splendor of his coming. 9 The coming of the lawless one will be in accordance with the work of Satan displayed in all kinds of counterfeit miracles, signs and wonders, 10 and in every sort of evil that deceives those who are perishing. They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved. 11 For this reason God sends them a powerful delusion so that they will believe the lie 12 and so that all will be condemned who have not believed the truth but have delighted in wickedness.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who always fulfills his promises.  I have always said that one day I would return, but you must realize that it will be by my timing in accordance with my plan for the ages.  In accordance with this plan, before I come back, I am allowing man to have his way on earth and the evil one must be allowed his time to rule them.  Just as the Jews rejected me, their rightful Lord, all unregenerate men will reject me for the evil one as well.  This will come about when I remove the restrainer and call my church to be at my side in heaven so that the evil one will have free, unabated reign here on earth.  But then, when I do come back with my church, I will show everyone in the world just who I AM – the rightful Creator, Lord, King and Judge of the universe.   Just as I created the universe and everything in it with my spoken word, so I will conquer this evil kingdom by a spoken word of my mouth at my glorious appearing (no sweat).

 All throughout history my miraculous salvation came when man was in dire straits and they called out to me for help.  Only when you realize your need for me will I rescue you.  When the night is at its darkest hour, so the sunrise seems to be the brightest, this is how it will be at my coming.  When the blackness of men’s hearts are at their darkest, the dawn will break on the evil one with the splendor of my coming.  

Remember Nebuchadnezzar’s dream of the multi-material constructed statue?   I AM the Stone which destroyed it and so I will destroy Satan’s kingdom so that I can set up my everlasting kingdom on earth as the rightful heir to the throne.  Just like the cavalry charge of the old west with trumpets blaring or the Marines coming to conquer the foe with certainty, so I will come at the proper time with judgment in my hand and with finality.  Then I will have MY TIME to rule with an iron scepter of righteousness and the world will be restored and all wrongs will be made right.  Only I can and will “save the planet”.

Just as Satan had to ask permission to hurt Job, so too, he has to have permission to execute his plan on this earth.  It will be in God’s time, and will accomplish ultimate purposes according to God’s sovereignty beyond anything that Satan could possibly know.  Satan must have his time to rule, in order to allow mankind to have his choice which started back in the Garden of Eden to rule himself.  Man must be allowed to make this ultimate choice to bear the responsibility and be held accountable to the Judge of the universe.  They refuse to love the truth so God will give them a powerful delusion to believe the lies of Satan and seal their fate.  There must be alternatives made available to man so that he can make the choice to respond to and receive God’s free gift of life and salvation or not to.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of 2 Thessalonians and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

