Who are you Lord? I AM the Resurrection and the Life! 1 Thess 4:13 – 511

In memory and honor of my beloved Sister in Law- Karen Watson, who is now seeing

Karen Watson - Forever with Christ

Christ face to face in his unveiled glory.  She precedes us now but only temporarily and so we do not grieve as if she is lost to us forever, rather we rejoice saying – till we meet again. 

The Coming of the Lord

We do not grieve like those without hope

13 Brothers, we do not want you to be ignorant about those who fall asleep, or to grieve like the rest of men, who have no hope. 14 We believe that Jesus died and rose again and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him. 15 According to the Lord’s own word, we tell you that we who are still alive, who are left till the coming of the Lord, will certainly not precede those who have fallen asleep. 16 For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. 18 Therefore encourage each other with these words.

5   Now, brothers, about times and dates we do not need to write to you, 2 for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night. 3 While people are saying, “Peace and safety,” destruction will come on them suddenly, as labor pains on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape. 4 But you, brothers, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief. 5 You are all sons of the light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. 6 So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. 7 For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night. 8 But since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet. 9 For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ. 10 He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him. 11 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who fulfills his promises to you.  Be not afraid.  From the Garden of Eden I promised to a redeemer and bring you back into a relationship with myself.  I fulfilled that promise when I came in person to die for you. 

 I AM the Resurrection and the Life.  Those who receive my gift of salvation will be included in Christ for life and have no need to fear death because then it is only a door way to be with me for eternity.  But those who do not believe do need to fear, for they will suffer my righteous wrath and destruction. 

 However, my coming to this earth is only the first half of the fulfillment.  There is more to come.  And just as the Old Testament saints had to wait by faith for the Messiah to arrive initially, so too you New Testament saints must wait in faith until I arrive again finally.  And just as I said “it is done” on the cross two thousand years ago, so too one day I will say again “it is done” (Rev 21:6 ) when I finalize salvation.  What I started in the Garden and finished on the cross, will one day be realized in perfection when I personally come to bring you home where you can live forever where I AM.

 This is the whole reason I made mankind to begin with.  You are not some evolutionary random accident.  I have plans for you personally to be with me eternally to experience my glory.  Whether you die of old age or while you are young, have no fear- I made you to be with me and I AM waiting for you on the other side.  Jump!  I promise to catch you.

Heb 10:23 “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.”  I am so glad that salvation is God’s work on our behalf.  Just as the fact that He created us, and not we ourselves.  So too He fixed our relationship with God the Father for us, and not we ourselves.  And furthermore, he is coming again to receive us unto the Father, and not we ourselves.  We have no hand in any of these miraculous events, rather, we receive them all by faith and thank God that he doesn’t make mistakes, and that he always comes through on his promises to us as recorded in His Word.

Jn 11:25Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; 26 and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?” 

His words hold true for us today too.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Religion, the Book of 1 Thessalonians and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

