Who are you Lord? I AM the God of life changing power 1 Thess 1:2-10

Who do you know that has inspired or challenged you to grow in your faith?  When was the

Inspire greatness

last time you told them how you feel or thanked them for what God has done in your life because of them?  Have you ever heard a good report about another person, and told them what you heard?  We need to esteem people when we see God shining out from them. 

Thanksgiving for the Thessalonians’ Faith

2 We always thank God for all of you, mentioning you in our prayers. 3 We continually remember before our God and Father your work produced by faith, your labor prompted by love, and your endurance inspired by hope in our Lord Jesus Christ. 4 For we know, brothers loved by God, that he has chosen you, 5 because our gospel came to you not simply with words, but also with power, with the Holy Spirit and with deep conviction. You know how we lived among you for your sake. 6 You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit. 7 And so you became a model to all the believers in Macedonia and Achaia. 8 The Lord’s message rang out from you not only in Macedonia and Achaia—your faith in God has become known everywhere. Therefore we do not need to say anything about it, 9 for they themselves report what kind of reception you gave us. They tell how you turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God, 10 and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead—Jesus, who rescues us from the coming wrath.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God of all power.  My power is revealed through my Word by your changed lives; not just head knowledge.  My Word inspires and infuses conviction, integrity, confidence, steadfastness, endurance, love, faith, hope, joy, peace, most importantly – salvation.

 My message, My Word is not just some dead text, not just some religious jargon to blindly recite.  By it, I created the entire universe.  I AM the God who works out my word in your lives by my Spirit for my glory.  “If you abide in me and my words abide in you ask whatever you will in my name and it will be done for you.”  I know that my efforts are not wasted on you.  I see your labor, your works, your endurance, your conviction and confidence in me.  I know that you love, believe, and hope in me.  I see the power of the Holy Spirit living and working through you.  I know all that you are going through and see my joy shining in your life in spite of them.  I see my message ring out from you where ever you go so that others are talking about me because of you.    

I AM worthy of your faith, Love and hope; your labor, work and endurance.  I AM worthy of your suffering in all of your hardships.  I AM worthy of your enduring, conviction and your desires to emulate my life.  I AM worthy of your becoming models and heroes of the faith so that My message can “ring out” from you.  I AM worthy of your turning from your materialistic idols to me – the true God of life.  I AM worthy of your eager expectation for my return like the 5 wise brides in the parable of the 5 wise and 5 unwise brides.  I AM worthy because I am the only one who defeated death and am the only one who can rescue you from the coming of God’s righteous judgment. 

God’s Word is the source of your confidence in this hopeless world.  It gives strength to the weak.  It tells of his enduring love for this selfish world.  It is the answer to life’s problems and the world’s hurts.  It is the source of your faith.  It is the reason for the deep conviction behind your labor so that others also may have what you have.  It can sustain you and give you peace and joy through the tumult of persecution and pain.  It is the bright light of hope at the end of the dark night of uncertainty.  His Word is truth; and as truth it is an anchor, a tower, a fortress and rock which the subjective philosophies of this world cannot corrupt.  It is an unerring compass for all who seek his true wisdom and righteousness.  Most of all, by it you can know Him truly and consequently be transformed in the renewing of your mind into his likeness.  Rom 1:17a “For in the gospel a righteousness from God is revealed…”

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Spiritual, the Book of 1 Thessalonians and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

