Who are you Lord? I AM the God of all comfort and encouragment Col 4:7-18

Every greeting card company impress upon us that greetings

We all need encouragment

are extremely important to our emotional lives.  Write something personal inside of that card, and it means all the more.  Staying connected with loved ones at home help missionaries feel secure.  Knowing that people back home are praying and remembering us is like an anchor to our sanity to stay the course so far away.  The saying “out of sight, out of mind” is very true unfortunately; but greetings from home help people like us to know that we are remembered and loved, not forgotten.

Final Greetings

7 Tychicus will tell you all the news about me. He is a dear brother, a faithful minister and fellow servant in the Lord. 8 I am sending him to you for the express purpose that you may know about our circumstances and that he may encourage your hearts. 9 He is coming with Onesimus, our faithful and dear brother, who is one of you. They will tell you everything that is happening here. 10 My fellow prisoner Aristarchus sends you his greetings, as does Mark, the cousin of Barnabas. (You have received instructions about him; if he comes to you, welcome him.) 11 Jesus, who is called Justus, also sends greetings. These are the only Jews among my fellow workers for the kingdom of God, and they have proved a comfort to me. 12 Epaphras, who is one of you and a servant of Christ Jesus, sends greetings. He is always wrestling in prayer for you, that you may stand firm in all the will of God, mature and fully assured. 13 I vouch for him that he is working hard for you and for those at Laodicea and Hierapolis. 14 Our dear friend Luke, the doctor, and Demas send greetings. 15 Give my greetings to the brothers at Laodicea, and to Nympha and the church in her house. 16 After this letter has been read to you, see that it is also read in the church of the Laodiceans and that you in turn read the letter from Laodicea. 17 Tell Archippus: “See to it that you complete the work you have received in the Lord.” 18 I, Paul, write this greeting in my own hand. Remember my chains. Grace be with you.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God of all comfort, encouragement and hope.  I have given you my Greetings of love and compassion in my Bible to let you know that you are not alone in this world.  As you know me, I want you to encourage others with my encouragement just as I have encouraged you. “In this world you will have tribulations, but be of good cheer, for I have overcome the world.”  Share my cheer with your brothers and sisters.  Share the comfort that I have given you with others who are in need. Let them know that they are not forgotten.  Let them know that they are loved.  Look to see if there are any among you that feel left out, and make them feel that my love includes them.  All of you can be agents of my grace alleviating each other’s feelings of loneliness.   You each have times where you feel like you are in chains which are fastened to some kind of hardship.  In those times, you need to be greeted with my grace and hope through the affections of another believer like Paul was sought out in Rome by Onesiphorus.  This is why I made you all into a body, so that you each can meet the needs of one another.  Nothing makes you want to quit more than feeling alone in this world so “Greet one another with a holy kiss.”  and “Encourage one another and all the more as you see the day approaching.” 

“No man is an island.”  We all want to be part of a team.  The internet is full of ways to meet these basic human needs of interpersonal communication.  Comradeship is a very attractive ingredient in every school, sports team and even in the military.  We all need to be recognized and acknowledged by each other.  We all need connection.  Solitary confinement is a punishment given in prison systems to deny unruly persons contact with the other inmates.  A few days or weeks deprived of fellowship will change a person’s outlook and behavior.

Elijah cried out to God twice in 1 Kings 19 that he felt that he was the only true worshipper of the Lord left in Israel.  Ditties like “Nobody loves me, everybody hates me, think I’ll eat some worms…” and songs like “I’ll be home for Christmas…” depict our need for each other especially at special times of the year like Christmas or birthdays.  How many of you have been away from family for some length of time that did not crave news from home and loved ones?   Prov 25:25 “Like cold water to a weary soul is good news from a distant land.”  My point is that when we feel like we are alone in a cause, we are more prone to stumble and fall.  Having someone greet us – someone who is concerned for us, or who shows interest in our well being can mean all the difference in our emotional strength.

Do you know someone you have been thinking about?  Like the telephone jingle tells us, “reach out and touch someone”.  Don’t assume that everyone is doing just fine.  Be Christ to someone; take the time to let someone know that you care.

That is all for Colossians,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The Book of Colossians and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

