Who are you Lord? I AM the God who made the invisible realms of creation too. Col 1:15 -23

Historically, we humans have prided ourselves in the discovery of the invisible principles

God made all the laws of nature.

which govern our world and universe.   But rather than marvel in the wisdom of the one who invented them – God, we use them to declare that we don’t need God and declare that these amazing laws of nature have always existed in their own right.  We give more credit to the scientists who discover them than to the omniscient and omnipotent God who came up with them in the first place.

The Supremacy of Christ

Col 1: 15He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him. 17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. 18 And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy. 19 For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, 20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross. 21 Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior. 22 But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation— 23 if you continue in your faith, established and firm, not moved from the hope held out in the gospel. This is the gospel that you heard and that has been proclaimed to every creature under heaven, and of which I, Paul, have become a servant.

Who are you Lord?

I control all.  I AM the author of all the natural laws that run the universe by which some think that they can erase me out of history with. I existed before the cosmos and spoke it into existence, I started the galaxies and planets and stars to spin and shine their light.  I named all the stars and measured them in my hand then set them in their particular places and put them on their courses.  I know what is beyond the furthest star and I Am there right now.   I made space itself and filled it with everything you have today, not because I need anything, but because I love you and knew you needed it to survive.  I made, sustain and will destroy all matter and energy in an instant, and in accordance to my time table.  I designed and created the atoms and hold them all from flying apart.   I created the angelic hosts with all their power over the spiritual realm to serve me.  I set up the concepts of human government, rule and law.  I created you, my most beloved creation.  You are the epitome of all my creative genius because you were made to be like me – in my image.  I made you so that we could live eternally together.  I created your free will so you could choose to love me, just as I had the choice to make and love you.  And now I redeemed you from your sin which is another invisible concept, and make you holy by the death of my Son and by the indwelling of my Holy Spirit in you.  Someday I will take you to heaven to be my bride.  All authority in Heaven and Earth has been given to the Son.  I AM the invisible Lord of the universe and although you cannot see me now, one day you will, and you will come before me either free from accusation or still in your sin.    The choice is yours.

In the beginning God, being a spirit being, created everything in the universe to be temporary so that we humans could live our lives with the realization of how short life is in view of eternity.  Eternity is more of a spiritual concept than a physical time/ space concept.   We are bound by the physical realms of time, space and matter.   We, who are physical, have to conceptualize the invisible realm of this universe.  Historically, we humans have prided ourselves in the discovery of the invisible principles which govern our world and universe.   But rather than marvel in the wisdom of the one who invented them – God, we use them to declare that we don’t need God and declare that these amazing laws of nature have always existed in their own right.  We give more credit to the scientists who discover them than to the omniscient and omnipotent God who came up with them in the first place.  God is the one who started the galaxies and planets spinning.  He is the one who invented gravity, and the laws of motion.  God mandated that all matter decay and energy deplete.  God is above all physical / natural law.  He doesn’t need them to exist like we do, he is greater than they are, however God knew that we needed them.

All throughout the scriptures, we are exhorted to live by faith that God is the one who rules and controls our physical being.  He is the one who is preparing us for the eternal and invisible reality of life after death.  Jesus came to this earth as the physical manifestation of the invisible God – the ultimate middle man so to speak – the representative between the two realms.  He tells us to “live by faith not by sight”.  Knowledge is not the enemy of faith; but needing to “see to believe”- is the enemy.  Our faith needs our knowledge as an avenue to be exercised; then we draw conclusions and act with our will to take God at his Word in any given situation.    When our conceptual or experiential knowledge denies God’s testimony as recorded in his word, we are not walking by faith.

As I mentioned above, this physical realm is temporary.  Matter is secondary to the spiritual realm.  All matter had a beginning and it will have an end.  But we humans have fallen to Satan’s trickery to think that what we can see is all there is.  All nature is governed by invisible laws set in motion by the supernatural God.  He also instituted spiritual laws with eternal consequences to govern and control not only our physical lives but our spirits as well.    This world is a proving ground for our faith.  All circumstances of this short existence are governed by God to challenge our thoughts toward spiritual matters.  Even God’s physical blessings are given so we can learn to trust him with our very souls.  This physical existence is just a stepping stone to the greater spiritual one.  But if we can’t get past the invisible physical laws of nature to see our supernatural God, how can we ever see him in the realm of the spiritual.  Jesus often used physical analogy to demonstrate spiritual truths.  And on one night he confronted one of the religious leaders about this very thing when he said in John 3:12 “I have spoken to you of earthly things and you do not believe; how then will you believe if I speak of heavenly things?”

Jesus is Lord.  He created everything you see and everything that governs them.  Compared to eternity, the things that you do see will last less than a nanosecond and it will all be over, and your faith will be made sight.  You will meet your invisible creator face to face, whether you believe in him or not.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The Book of Colossians, Truth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

