Who are you Lord? I AM the God who is perfecting you for a reason. Phil 1:1-11

Oh, how God desires that we know and trust him.  Ps 77 and 78 are beautiful psalms that

You got to know him to trust him

tells how we need to remember Him when things are going tough so that we might not turn back in the day of battle.  In the Psalmists time it was a physical battle, but our battle is no less real.  Only when we recall who God is, will we have the resources to stand firm and not faint. 

Phil 1:1To all the saints in Christ Jesus at Philippi, together with the overseers and deacons: 2 Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Thanksgiving and Prayer

3 I thank my God every time I remember you. 4 In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy 5 because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, 6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. 7 It is right for me to feel this way about all of you, since I have you in my heart; for whether I am in chains or defending and confirming the gospel, all of you share in God’s grace with me. 8 God can testify how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus. 9 And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, 10 so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, 11 filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who loves you so much, that I cause you to grow in my love and in your service to me using various ways and means.  What I started in you, I will perfect.  I orchestrate all things to mold you into conformity of my Son.  I will do this work in you to make you pure and blameless and fill you with the fruit of my righteousness until I bring you home.  I love you too much to leave you as you are, but will work these things into your life until the day that I come back for my Bride whom I have adorned in my righteousness without spot or wrinkle. 

I have chosen you to partner with me in the building of my church.  I want you to join me in my work of rescuing souls for eternity.  I desire that you know and abound in my love more and more so that you will want to lay your life down for others as I did mine.  Only as you know my truth being manifested in your life will you be able to respond to my grace by putting others before your own desires for life and happiness in this temporary world. 

Only when you abound in knowledge of, and have confidence in my love for you, will you be able to sacrificially expend yourself for others like my servant Paul did.  He did so even to the point of going to prison and to die for my sake.  How much do you know me?  How far would you go in obedience to me?  You will go only as far as you know me.  I have so much love for you that I want you to know and experience if you would but continue in my Word.

 God’s promise of Romans 8:28,29 to us is that whatever comes our way, God is in it whether we agree with him or not, He allows things in order to correct and mold us into the image of his Son.  The day we die and go to be with him in heaven is the day that process is complete in us.  That is the promise of vs 6.  That is the consummation of our salvation, namely to be perfect in our condition as we already are in our position in Christ.  Since eternal life starts at our salvation, He is making that change in us every day through all the trials, suffering, as well as joys in this life.   As we know Him in His word, we can have joy like the book of James says while God works his character and person in us.  Praise the Lord.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Spiritual, The book of Philippians and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

