Eph 3:14-21 Who are you Lord? I AM the God of Love

Many people speak of balances when it comes to the Christian life.  they say: “You can be

Mt Beatitudes garden gate

too heavenly minded that you’re not any earthly good.”  This saying is actually the opposite.  Without a proper understanding and increased knowledge of the Father, Son and Spirit, what you do here won’t have a lasting results if it has its source in self.  This section of Ephesians speaks to this matter.  Only as we know God can he fill us to the full measure of God to love people and help them love God.  It also combats the tendency toward religious academia. 

Eph 3: 14-21For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.  20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever! Amen.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the All Powerful God who gives you the power to love others above yourself.  I give you the knowledge to know my Son and his love for the whole world.  But not just knowledge, I will give you the power that enables you to let me love the world through you.  I can fill you with all of my fullness so that I may glorify myself through you in the eyes of the world. 

They say that knowledge is power, thus becoming an end in itself, but I say that knowledge is just the means to understand my love, and then I will give you the power to actually love because, naturally speaking in your human selfishness, you don’t have the capacity to do so.  Only I can give you that kind of power once you know me.  Love is a gift of my Holy Spirit living in you.  The world views power as a means to control.  I give power to love and serve unconditionally.  The world rules from the top down, you are to rule humbly as examples in service.  Only when you know how vast my undeserved love for you is, can you pass it on to others.  You cannot imagine that kind of power that I have to give you that lets you give to others without expectation.

Power is given to us when we know God, but not just when we know, but when we act on what God has done for us.  We are not talking academics, but real power – power to serve, not to take advantage of or get something from people.  Love always points to its source.  Christ.  The whole purpose of the Bible is to teach us so that we can apply…. “until we are filled to the measure of all the fullness of God”.  Imagine the fullness of God.  That sure blows religion out of the water even religions that call themselves “Christian”…  Like Paul says “why do you want to go back to those weak and miserable principles?”  “having the form of godliness but denying its power”.

As always, more to come later,

Steve
About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of Ephesians and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

