Eph 2:1-10 Who are you Lord, I AM the God who wants you to choose me

Wedding of Victoria, Crown Princess of Sweden,...

Image via Wikipedia

A lot of people think that they can earn God’s favor by doing the things as commanded in the Bible.  After all, God did command us to do them.  The problem is, You Got To Do Them ALL.   God knows we can’t.  That is why he gave us this great passage and others like it Titus 3:5 “Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but by HIS MERCY he saves us…”  Anyone who thinks they can butter God up by their good enough attitude have fallen for Satan’s lies which he gave Eve in the garden… “God did not say you will die but that you will be like him, you can be good enough on your own merit.  you don’t need God…”(more of my paraphrasing). 

Eph 2:1-10 As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, 2 in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. 3 All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath. 4 But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, 5 made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. 6 And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, 7 in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. 8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Who Are you Lord?

I AM the God who made you and let you go your own way.  I let you chose for yourself whether you wanted to be with me.  Your nature demands that choice.  But I have a choice too!  And I chose you to be with me forever.  I invite you to be my bride.  I want you to spend eternity with me because I love you.  Yes I bind all men in disobedience, but it is so that I can show mercy on all.  I AM the giver of life.  In my love, I removed Adam from the Garden of Eden in punishment so that he would die.  I did not want him to eat of the tree of life and live separately from me forever.  I allow you all to die so that we might be reunited in heaven.  By my grace I have chosen you and included you in my Son.  I did this so you can see me for who I AM – the Mighty God and creator of the universe.  There is no way that you can earn this gift of my salvation.  There is NO WAY that you can do anything to make me love you more than I do.  Don’t even think you have any merit in your own accord.  Only when my Son is in your life, will you be acceptable to me, and be able to have my righteousness.  And only after that fact will I have work for you to do on this earth. 

I have said it before and I will continue to say it:  God made us to choose to live with him in heaven.  But we chose not to in Adam, so now he draws all men to the Son who would to become his bride, to reign with him forever.  In Jesus, God is offering us what Satan wanted us to do in our own wisdom and power – become our own gods.  You will remember that it is just like he tried to be (see Isa 14, and Ezek 28).

Only God the Father is capable of giving us his divine nature to be able to reign as joint heirs in Christ.  In the last chapter of the Bible, He says “I will be their God and live among them and they will be my people” (my paraphrase).  How is that for a happy ending.

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Religion, The book of Ephesians and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

