Eph 3:1-13 Who are you Lord? I AM the God who glorifies myself through you.

The night is ending and Glory is coming!

This passage is one of my favorites, as it is the passage that showed me the importance of why we are to serve God.  Verse 10 His intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms,” this is the reason we have missions.  James Piper states in his books that “the reason we have missions is because global worship of God does not exist.”  It is through the proper functioning, love and unity of the church that God is revealing his glory to whole world and the Angelic hosts.

Ephesians 3:1-13 For this reason I, Paul, the prisoner of Christ Jesus for the sake of you Gentiles  2 Surely you have heard about the administration of God’s grace that was given to me for you, 3 that is, the mystery made known to me by revelation, as I have already written briefly. 4 In reading this, then, you will be able to understand my insight into the mystery of Christ, 5 which was not made known to men in other generations as it has now been revealed by the Spirit to God’s holy apostles and prophets. 6 This mystery is that through the gospel the Gentiles are heirs together with Israel, members together of one body, and sharers together in the promise in Christ Jesus.   7 I became a servant of this gospel by the gift of God’s grace given me through the working of his power. 8 Although I am less than the least of all God’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, 9 and to make plain to everyone the administration of this mystery, which for ages past was kept hidden in God, who created all things. 10 His intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms, 11 according to his eternal purpose which he accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord. 12 In him and through faith in him we may approach God with freedom and confidence. 13 I ask you, therefore, not to be discouraged because of my sufferings for you, which are your glory.

Who are You Lord?

I AM the one who does all things according to the council of my own will.  I have mercy on whom I will have mercy, I call whom I will call, and you can be sure that I chose how I will glorify my name for all the universe to see.  And guess how I decided to do that.  I chose to do so through you vs 10.  For a while there I let Israel be my showpiece.  But all along my intent was to make a body on this earth from every nation, culture and language that I created to be united in Christ.  My plan is to bring them all together to worship me and share together all of my promises and inheritance along with the Jews.  This was a mystery to the universe until I revealed it here to the Apostles.  By my spirit have I revealed my ultimate plan to the world.  And my desire is that all nations will know me and be included in my church and reign with me for eternity in heaven. 

God sunk all his eggs in this one basket- the church.  God chose for human involvement to expand his body.  When we live in unity and self sacrifice for others, God shines for the entire world to see.  Human nature which is volitionally under the control of the Holy Spirit; loving, caring, giving, and dying for others – even our enemies, is the greatest glory God can reveal of his wisdom to the universe (angelic hosts).    Great is the God who changes hearts by his spirit.  Great is the God who by love motivates his followers to live for the needs of others.  This God has real power and real glory.  Mandating religious laws upon humanity has no appeal; there is no glory in that.

God created the diversity of each nation to reveal a part of His own character and personality.  Only in the church which comprises believers of all the nations together in one body will He be perfectly represented.  When they are all unified will He be glorified, but when they fight, He is dishonored.   When you think of reasons why people do not want to become Christian, often the answer is because of the hypocrites in the Church.  This negative illustration shows how important this subject is and the veracity of the statement which God makes in verse 10.  However, one day God will bring us all together physically just as we currently are spiritually.  And we will reign forever at his side basking in the presence of his glory.

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Religion, The book of Ephesians and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

