He opens our eyes to know Him. Eph 1:15-23

You can only trust somebody as far as you know them.  Ps 77:1 through to 78:11 typify this

Gethsemane -The stone thought to be where Jesus prayed

concept exceptionally well.  When you remember who God is, you can trust him, when you don’t, you can’t.  It sounds great in the movies when the hero tells his compadre “I’ve got your back”.  What trust, what confidence to step into harm’s way knowing your best friend is capable and behind you.  In this passage that is what God is saying to us.  “I got your past, I got your future and I definitely with you now.  Now let’s get in there and do something for my glory.”

Eph 1:15-23For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints, 16 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. 17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength, 20 which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms, 21 far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. 22 And God placed all things under his feet and appointed him to be head over everything for the church, 23 which is his body, the fullness of him who fills everything in every way.

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who wants you to know me, so that your spiritual eyes may see me through the din of battle with the devil, your flesh and the things of this world. I want you to know and experience all the good things I have given you.  I want you to have the inheritance I have prepared for you and the power to get you there.  Only I can show you all of these things and open your eyes and mind to receive them.  Only when you receive this spiritual sight, can you live life the way I have chosen for you.  I want to fill you with my fullness, and you can only have that when you know me – my hope, my power and the inheritance that I have promised you so that you will have total confidence in your life.  I have given all my power to be at your disposal, all knowledge and wisdom as revealed in my Word to enlighten your heart into these things.  Now you can walk in truth and conviction in this age of subjective reasoning and instant gratification of personal pleasures.

The only way that Isaiah was able to step out to be a prophet was because God showed himself to Isaiah.  Moses met God and brought Israel out of Egypt.  Only when God shows us who he is in the Word will we be at a place where we can step out in boldness.  But it cannot stop with just knowing about God.  Without the action to follow his leading, speaking his word, doing his work, obeying his commands, it is all just academics.

We tend to live this life just wondering about the extraordinary lives of the Apostles.  We wonder in awe at our fellow believers in third world countries because we in the west have never had to live day to day in spiritual battle like in many parts of the world where they experience persecution just because they are Christians.  They live daily dependent upon this power, and they take comfort by clinging to the hope of better life to come.  We in the west only hear about this power from reading the Bible, but we tend not to avail ourselves of it nor ask for it, why?  Because we are not living under any physical threats.  However the spiritual battle is raging all around us, yet we are not always conscious of it.  So we live as bystanders not combatants going about our daily business.  We don’t have His power flowing through us because our lives don’t need it.  What a scary dilemma – we all want his power, but not necessarily the battle in which to exercise it.  We don’t like the fellowship of his suffering, being made conformable to his death part.  Yikes.  We would prefer to know academically not experientially.  We want to be on the team, but secretly we just like to sit on the sidelines watching and cheering from that great vantage point where we can’t get hurt.

The reason he gives us his power, and the confidence of future inheritance is so that we can fling ourselves in the battle around the globe without fear of lack of provision, without fear of future care, without fear of abandonment, and without fear of lack of strength.  Let us jump into the fray with both feet so that we can see God do something great through us for his glory.

We love having the armor of God, doesn’t it look so nice and shinny propped up in the corner after polishing it each Sunday?   You’re supposed to wear it? Who me?

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in The book of Ephesians and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

