I AM the God who leads you by my eye Gal 3:26-4:7

What should the Christian experience be?

Tonight I want to share something that is

Women in the Wheat Fields, Anacapri (painting)

“Lift up your eyes to the fields for it is white unto harvest”

really convicting to myself, so if you feel like you need to improve in this area, you are not alone.  It is so easy for us to do our “Christianity” like everyone else in trying to live a religious life.  So I hope you are not too offended with this post.  I believe that this one thing is key to changing our human Christian experience into a supernatural one. Religions force external apparent conformity, true Christianity (not just religious “churchianity”) empowers internally to effect real change.  The difference is found in Positional truths.  Being found in Christ.

use this link for the NIV Gal 3:26-4:7 Highlight the following verses. vs26,27 and 4:6,7

As we ponder God’s character from the above passage, I wonder if God would answer our signature question below in the following way…

Who are you Lord?

I AM the God who has placed his Spirit in you and given you the ability to be led by himself to do and be all that I want you to be in this world.  You are My representatives here now.  You are empowered to be My ambassadors and to represent my love, justice and righteousness to the world.  With that much authority and knowing my mind through my word as directed by my Holy Spirit, why on earth should you want to go back to being like a mindless pack animal desiring to have to be led by a bit in the mouth such as rules and regulations.  Or to be like mere men who live by passionate cravings.  You are heirs to heaven.  You have the keys to eternal life in you.  You have My Spirit of power and authority to be able to live above the need for weak and miserable principles.  Only as my adult sons can you know My heart and be able to do my will without having to be told, rather I desire to lead you by my eye.  You are to be about my business here.  This requires you to be watching me, watching what stirs my heart, watching me to see where I am looking in life around you to be involved in. Only when you are watching can I use you to minister my life to others.  If you are just worried about your reputations or religious duties, you will never know how I could have used you.

Jn 5:19 Jesus gave them this answer: “I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. 20 For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does.

We need to see what God sees and get involved

When we are more concerned of doing our own agenda, we fail to see what the Father is doing all around us.  As Henry Blackaby states in his book experiencing God, “God is at work all around us, we need to lift up our eyes and join him in what we see that he is doing.”  For example, when Peter happened to see the beggar at the beautiful gate, he saw God’s work there to be done.   Because he did, the church over doubled in its size.  We need to be aware of the needs around us, so we can see what God sees and get involved. It makes me question where my focus is on, and that bothers me sometimes.

My recently departed Pastor Von says it better:

“I have a rather simple philosophy as to this life. I see my time on earth as very brief and radically different from my future forever life with God. Because of this, I have come to a rather logical conclusion that has become my personal mandate: “I’m here on earth to do things for God that I can never do for Him in Heaven, and I only have a short time left to do them.”
Here is some of what I can only do on earth that I’ll never be able to do in heaven. This seems both pleasing to God and fulfilling to me.

I can share the Gospel with those who have never heard.
I can teach those who don’t know.
I can light the darkness and give hope to the hopeless.
I can encourage the discouraged and faint hearted.
I can dry the tear of a crying child.
I can love the unlovely, unloved and unlovable.
I can give someone who is thirsty a cup of cold water.
I can feed those who are hungry, help heal those who are sick, give shelter to those who have none and give a blanket to those who are cold.
I can give shelter to those who are without.
I can even love my enemies and forgive those who violate me.
In heaven, there will be no sin or darkness, no sickness, no hunger, no want or pain, no enemies of any kind just eternal joy, thanksgiving, praise and worship of almighty God for ever.

It makes sense to me to do what I can for God while I’m here on earth so my time in eternity will be more of a joy for myself and others.

In Heaven there will be no clocks or calendars, we won’t be wearing watches; there will be no time as we know it. On the other hand, here on earth, we only have a few precious moments to accomplish our unique and divine calling.
Please excuse me to do the urgent, that which can only be done here and now.”

— Pastor Von

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Religion, the book of Galatians and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I AM the God who leads you by my eye Gal 3:26-4:7

  1. Margaret Fischer says:

    So I know that God wants to see men come to him. How do I start, where do I start? Please pray for me as I want to be sensitive to God’s heart and hear His voice. Thank you for praying

    • strostrud says:

      God is at work all around you. Pray that he will open your eyes to what He is doing, and look for invitations to get involved. Once you are moving in response to his leading, then He can guide you in greater and greater movements. Kind of like a sail boat leaving a harbor, slowly at first, until out of the bay, the world is your ocean. He will give you desires that you never thought possible.

      Steve

Leave a Reply

