I AM blameless, upright, righteous; I want you to be like me Titus 1:5-16

I have said it before and I will say it again, the leadersof a group of people; whether a

The more i shine through you, the more apt to be a leader you will become.

church, city, state or country come from within that group of people.  If that group of people is righteous or wicked, the rulers will in all probability, be the same.  It is a self fulfilling prophecy I believe is found in the scriptures (See my post regarding 1Timothy 3).  It is unfortunate that many people feel that since they don’t want to become leaders, then this passage does not apply to them.  Consequently the general populace of a country or church feel liberty to pursue their own pleasure and listen to whatever version of the truth they want, and when someone with a humanistic doctrine comes along, they are not able to discern what God’s truth is and they tend to follow the lie.  Everyone needs to strive to know God’s word as if they would someday be asked to lead a church. Everyone in the church needs to live blameless before the Lord and man, like Christ did as a child Lk 2:52 “And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.”

Titus’ Task on Crete

5 The reason I left you in Crete was that you might straighten out what was left unfinished and appoint elders in every town, as I directed you. 6 An elder must be blameless, the husband of but one wife, a man whose children believe and are not open to the charge of being wild and disobedient. 7 Since an overseer is entrusted with God’s work, he must be blameless—not overbearing, not quick-tempered, not given to drunkenness, not violent, not pursuing dishonest gain. 8 Rather he must be hospitable, one who loves what is good, who is self-controlled, upright, holy and disciplined. 9 He must hold firmly to the trustworthy message as it has been taught, so that he can encourage others by sound doctrine and refute those who oppose it. 10 For there are many rebellious people, mere talkers and deceivers, especially those of the  circumcision group. 11 They must be silenced, because they are ruining whole households by teaching things they ought not to teach—and that for the sake of dishonest gain. 12 Even one of their own prophets has said, “Cretans are always liars, evil brutes, lazy gluttons.” 13 This testimony is true. Therefore, rebuke them sharply, so that they will be sound in the faith 14 and will pay no attention to Jewish myths or to the commands of those who reject the truth. 15 To the pure, all things are pure, but to those who are corrupted and do not believe, nothing is pure. In fact, both their minds and consciences are corrupted. 16 They claim to know God, but by their actions they deny him. They are detestable, disobedient and unfit for doing anything good.

Who are you?

I AM blameless, Holy, upright, disciplined, good, true, and have many other traits that I desire you to have as my people.  I want you to be like me in this world by the power of my Spirit.  I want you to drop the façade of religion and live transparently before me. 

To the contrary, many live as deceivers and hypocrites in the church – they live like “mere men” and by their life style they reject my truth and in so doing they deny me.  They don’t even realize that they are shameful representatives or false witnesses of me.  Religion claims to know me.  But it is all just words.  It allows you to go about your life pleasing yourself and keep me in a closet to be brought out one day a week like some idol that they can control. 

I AM sincere, honest, trustworthy, gentle, wise, consistent, loving, encouraging.  I want you to emulate me.  These attributes reflect my nature and when they reflect my Spirit’s control in you, I will deem you worthy to lead my sheep.  I desire these traits to be in each of my children, not just the leaders.  “Be holy as I am holy”.  “Be controlled by my Spirit”.  This is my will for you.  Let my Word dictate your thinking so you can speak for me.  Choose me, then I will be able to choose you and you will be worthy to lead my sheep indeed.   

All of these attributes mentioned in this passage expected of leaders are reflected in Jesus.  They are characteristics of God.  As he chooses us to be his children, we need to know him as such.  Only as we know him to be these things to us can we in turn express them to others in our own lives.  After all this is the reason for the Bible, and the reason he has chosen us to be his children – to reflect him in this world.  As you look more and more like God by your actions, you will be more and more worthy to lead his church should he choose you.  It is not magic or a formula, it is a life in love with Jesus leading others to do the same.

Needless to say that it behooves each one of us to know how to discern God’s truth and not be mindless sheep following some Pied Piper who himself is following humanistic principles ultimately led along by Satan.  Because too many people do not feel that this passage applies to them, they don’t bother knowing God’s word and consequently often follow guys like Jim Jones.  Strive to have the qualifications of a leader, whether you are one or not.  Paul tells Timothy to watch his doctrine for it is able to save both him and his hearers.  We should all be like the Bereans who studied everything that Paul taught them to see if it was true Acts 17:11.  But the goal is not academics, but rather life change in knowing and becoming like Jesus.

More to come,

Steve

About strostrud

Missionary with New Tribes Mission since 1989
This entry was posted in Titus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

